Whoops, Put conditioner right in pool

Aug 20, 2017
LINCROFT, NJ
My chlorine levels were not rising and I was burining through tabs pretty fast. At the advice of
my local pool store they had my add Conditioner. Well like a complete newbie, I just poured the stuff right in the pool. Then when I noticed it wasn't dissolving, I looked at the instructions and noticed it said to dissolve in hot water first. So now I have a bunch of white particles of conditioner sitting in the deep end of my pool. Will it eventually dissolve? Should I vacume it up? Will it stain the liner?

I have a 25k gallon pool with liner, DE filter and 2 skimmers.

Hi, welcome to TFP! Go ahead and vacuum it up. It will dissolve slowly and can potentially damage the liner if allowed to sit there for long periods of time.

How long have you been using tablets? Is trichlor the main active ingredient? The problem may not be your conditioner level. Do you have a set of current test results you can post?

I've been using tabs since I got the pool. About 2 months. I had the water tested at a local pool store, and they told me to add it after I explained how my chlorine levels were not staying up even after I kept adding more tabs. I'll have to look for the results of the test, if I find I will post.

Just confirming that vacuuming that up into the de will not damage the filter?

It won't hurt the filter. You can backwash the filter or you can allow it to dissolve in the filter. Personally I would backwash it out and recharge the filter. It won't hurt anything to leave it in there, but it will take forever to dissolve.