Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Algae problem

1. Back To Top    #1

Algae problem

I have been fighting an algea problem for the last five days. I have added 5 bages of ganual shock over the last 3 days to no avail. It doesn't seem to be getting better but it's not getting an worse. My numbers are...

FC 7
    PH 7.8
    Alk 160
    CYA 40
    CC 4.5
    TC 11.5+

Any suggestions?
    20K gal.
    Hayward S-244T sand filter
    IG vinyl

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Algae problem

Quote Originally Posted by amelito
    I have been fighting an algea problem for the last five days. I have added 5 bages of ganual shock over the last 3 days to no avail. It doesn't seem to be getting better but it's not getting an worse. My numbers are...

FC 7
    PH 7.8
    Alk 160
    CYA 40
    CC 4.5
    TC 11.5+

Any suggestions?
    I am not a pro but the Pool School (link on top right of this page ) is the place to go so you can learn about everything related to keeping your pool balanced. This article is in there:http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...efeating_algae

Getting your pool to shock level will also get rid of those CC's which should not be above .5
    You should read and reread the pool school and you will learn alot- just like I did. Things like "shock is a level of chlorine not a product"
    18K gallon IG pool and separate 1200 Gallon IG spa - Both have: Diamond Brite Plaster- Hayward DE Filter -Propane heater- renovated 8/2008

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi,

We suggest you use Liquid Chlorine or Bleach (plain, unscented 6%) to shock your pool.

Remember that shocking your pool is a process and not a one-time event. The more often you can raise your pool to shock level (and try to hold it there) the faster the process will go.

With CC at 4.5, you will need lots of bleach.

Have you added anything other than the bags of shock?

Have you used the Pool Calculator?
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath