Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Hello,
    We are purchasing a used 16x32 pool. Will start the moving process next weekend…I’m sure I’ll have questions about that! The pool has a sand filter and a 125vac pump motor (sorry…don’t know the details). Last year a man that lives next to our little airport was tearing down his AGP (guessing…20x40…it was huge) and offered to give me the strainer, pump, sand filter, injectors, breaker box, timer…etc. I said sure…knowing we were eventually going to do the pool thing…loaded it on a trailer and move it into our hanger.

    Again…no details…but the pump is a 220vac pump and is obviously larger than the 125vac pump that is currently on the pool. Generally speaking, is there an advantage of having a larger, 220vac pump? …electrical usage and filtration/water flow?

    Thanks!
    Travis & Kathy
    16x32 AGP (extra return outlet installed), Pentair Dynamo Pump (1.5HP, 60+ GPM), Sta-Rite Crystal Flow Sand Filter (300 lb), Clear Diamond Solar Blanket & Reel, Pool-Skim
    Aqua Trol SWG (also controlling the pump), TF Test Kit. (Everything self installed, up and running on 08/02/09)
    Enjoying the TFP site and appreciating the infinite knowledge of it's members... and I'm slowly learning how to maintain our new pool the BBB way!
    Four Winds Spa (love the tub...hate the filtration system). Best water quality in four years using the BBB method

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    21,774

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Since you're getting a pool with filter and pump already sized for it I'd leave the other one in the hanger till the one oyu have goes south.

    You really can't make the assumption that the 220v pump is larger than the 125v pump. It could be, but not necessarily. We have a 1 1/2 hp 125 volt but they make the same pump/motor in 220v.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    For filtration, you usually want a smaller pump, not a larger pump. Obviously you can go too small, but for the most part it is really common to have pumps that are too large, and quite rare to see pumps that are too small. A larger pump uses more electricity and don't work any better (unless the small pump is way too small).

    Of course, as Bama Rambler said, you can't really tell how large a pump is just by the voltage. The very largest pumps are 230 volt only and the very smallest pumps are 115 volt only, but for a wide range in the middle pumps are available in both voltages.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    As far as power usage goes, 240V uses the same as 120v. 120 v pump will pull more current than a 240 v, but the usage (measured in Watts) will be exactly the same given the motor size is the same HP rating. (Watts=amps x volts)

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    651

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    In fact, many pool pump motors can be converted from 220V to 110V (or vice-versa) simply by connecting them differently. The details are usually on or inside the rear cover or connection block cover, assuming you can read a schematic. They will use the same amount of power (in kWh) but require different wiring from the supply panel. 220V circuits are preferred mainly because smaller wiring can be used because they carry only half the amperage and the load is spread over two phases (thus there is less chance of a single phase becoming overloaded because of the pump.)
    Current: 28,000G 18'x36' I/G AnthonySylvan Plaster; Waterway 60 sq.ft. DE Filter; 1.0hp x 1.65 SF Two-Speed (B2982) WhisperFlo; 2004-Present
    Previous: 40,000G 20'x40' I/G Koven unlined WWII salvage 5/8" marine steel; Lomart Stainless Sand Filter; 3/4hp Hayward SuperPump; 1946-2003 (managed by me from about 1964)
    Ancient Taylor K-2000, upgraded with Taylor CH, TA, and FAS-DPD, and TFT CYA tests.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Great info! Thanks...
    I will remain with the pump and filter that came with the pool. I will lube all the pump/filter parts on the extra unit and just keep them in storage until something dies! thanks again!
    Travis & Kathy
    16x32 AGP (extra return outlet installed), Pentair Dynamo Pump (1.5HP, 60+ GPM), Sta-Rite Crystal Flow Sand Filter (300 lb), Clear Diamond Solar Blanket & Reel, Pool-Skim
    Aqua Trol SWG (also controlling the pump), TF Test Kit. (Everything self installed, up and running on 08/02/09)
    Enjoying the TFP site and appreciating the infinite knowledge of it's members... and I'm slowly learning how to maintain our new pool the BBB way!
    Four Winds Spa (love the tub...hate the filtration system). Best water quality in four years using the BBB method

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Auckland - New Zealand
    Posts
    48

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Some pump motors may have a 220VAC input, however there are a few thigns to bear in mind
    most 220VAC/240VAC motors are designed to run on a 50Hz power cycle while your 110V power is 60Hz.
    This cycling makes more of a difference than the input voltage.
    running a 50Hz motor at 60Hz is not such a good thing, they go really well for about 5 mins or less then burn out
    Generally capacitors are ated for one or the other, and the 50Hz pumps have smaller impellors than their 60Hz equivilants

    stick with the unit that comes with the pool and hang onto it for emergency situations

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Quote Originally Posted by Aquaclear-NZ
    most 220VAC/240VAC motors are designed to run on a 50Hz power cycle while your 110V power is 60Hz.
    Not in the USA. Everything is 60 hz. There is no 50 hz power here

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    So...if a pump motor pulls 10 amps and is wired for 110v, it is pulling the 10 amps through one wire (basically) and if wired for 220 it is pulling 5 amps on each of the 110v phases. So...really no difference in overal power consumption. Is this correct?

    Travis
    Travis & Kathy
    16x32 AGP (extra return outlet installed), Pentair Dynamo Pump (1.5HP, 60+ GPM), Sta-Rite Crystal Flow Sand Filter (300 lb), Clear Diamond Solar Blanket & Reel, Pool-Skim
    Aqua Trol SWG (also controlling the pump), TF Test Kit. (Everything self installed, up and running on 08/02/09)
    Enjoying the TFP site and appreciating the infinite knowledge of it's members... and I'm slowly learning how to maintain our new pool the BBB way!
    Four Winds Spa (love the tub...hate the filtration system). Best water quality in four years using the BBB method

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    It doesnt really work that way, EXACTLY, but for all intents and purposes, yes. But, it would only pull about 2.5-3 amps per leg. A 240 motor will pull about half the amps a 120 will pull.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Quote Originally Posted by Brad S
    It doesnt really work that way, EXACTLY, but for all intents and purposes, yes. But, it would only pull about 2.5-3 amps per leg. A 240 motor will pull about half the amps a 120 will pull.
    Brad,
    So…If a motor can be wired either 110 or 220…If it’s wired for 220 will there be less “total” electricity used? …Will it cost less to operate it when wired for 220? Based upon our hypothetical 10 amp draw on 110, you said it would be drawing 2.5 – 3 amps per leg. A total 5 -6 amps total draw on 220. So would that equate to a 40% energy savings…hypothetically? Thanks!
    Travis & Kathy
    16x32 AGP (extra return outlet installed), Pentair Dynamo Pump (1.5HP, 60+ GPM), Sta-Rite Crystal Flow Sand Filter (300 lb), Clear Diamond Solar Blanket & Reel, Pool-Skim
    Aqua Trol SWG (also controlling the pump), TF Test Kit. (Everything self installed, up and running on 08/02/09)
    Enjoying the TFP site and appreciating the infinite knowledge of it's members... and I'm slowly learning how to maintain our new pool the BBB way!
    Four Winds Spa (love the tub...hate the filtration system). Best water quality in four years using the BBB method

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    No difference in power usage.
    Electricity is sold by the watt. A 240 volt motor will pull about half the current that a 120 volt motor will pull.
    So..hypothetical situation: if a 120 volt motor pulls 5 amps, thats 600 watts (120 x 5), then a 240 volt motor pulls 2.5 amps, or 600 watts (240 x 2.5)

    A 240 volt motor will not save any electricity usage. The amps and volts might be different, but the actual watts used will be the same..

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Brad,
    Thanks for clearing that up for me. Sincerely appreciated!

    Travis
    Travis & Kathy
    16x32 AGP (extra return outlet installed), Pentair Dynamo Pump (1.5HP, 60+ GPM), Sta-Rite Crystal Flow Sand Filter (300 lb), Clear Diamond Solar Blanket & Reel, Pool-Skim
    Aqua Trol SWG (also controlling the pump), TF Test Kit. (Everything self installed, up and running on 08/02/09)
    Enjoying the TFP site and appreciating the infinite knowledge of it's members... and I'm slowly learning how to maintain our new pool the BBB way!
    Four Winds Spa (love the tub...hate the filtration system). Best water quality in four years using the BBB method

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Uniontown
    Posts
    9

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    I have attached a brand new Hayward motor identical to my old one. However, after about 30 seconds it starts clicked and the power lessens. What did I do wrong?

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    63

    Re: Pump Voltage...125 or 220?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cort1476 View Post
    I have attached a brand new Hayward motor identical to my old one. However, after about 30 seconds it starts clicked and the power lessens. What did I do wrong?
    You might want to check your power wiring.
    My Pool Information :
    - Plaster Inground Pool - -Pool size about 13500 gallons
    4 Hayward Pumps : Filter, SPA, Waterfall, & Cleaner :
    Hayward 48 DE. Heater -Hayward 400 IDL. Chlorine Feeder -
    Polaris 280

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •