How to manage my SWG hot tub

Mig233

Jun 22, 2017
NJ
You can read Using Chlorine in a Spa for more info on the Dichlor-then-bleach method. This is the least expensive, safe and sanitary way to manage a spa and is essentially like BBB with pools. The Dichlor initially for around a week is to build up the CYA level to around 30 ppm. The bleach after that maintains the Free Chlorine (FC) level while not increasing CYA. In most spas, you need to use Dichlor about one day a month since the CYA will drop around 5 ppm per month. Though one can try and use pure CYA to raise it initially, the Dichlor isn't expensive in small quantities and dissolves quickly. Note that for pH stability one needs to have a very low TA level, as low as 50 ppm if needed, and that the use of 50 ppm Borates also helps for pH stability when the TA is low.

Hello! This is my first post, but I found this forum while trying to solve a problem. I am an ultra newbie (owned my Hotspring Gleam for less than a week), and need a crash course on chemicals. My problem was very high FC (off the charts >20ppm) in my Hotspring Gleam (510 gallon) with the ACE salt system. After doing reading on this site, I lowered the output of the salt generator to 1/10, added MPS and added pH up. My readings are starting to turn around, but the FC is still high. I know they will eventually lower naturally, and if I want I can lower them immediately by adding hydrogen peroxide (H202). But my question here is for future plans for chemical sanitizing.