Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: It is not green..now what?

1. Back To Top    #1

It is not green..now what?

After many weeks my pool is finally to the "cloudy white" stage, My question is do I keep up shock levels until it is clear? I understand to keep it up until the FC loss overnight is 1-2 ppm or less, but I have run out of CL testing solution, hopefully it will arrive tomorrow, it did not come today.

I am so afraid to let it drop to a level I can read with the other kit, I have been fighting this for 2 months, but shock level CL is getting expensive. At least 2 times a week I leave Sam's Club with 18 1.4 gal bottles of Clorox! They think I am the cleanest person in Nashville!

JoAnne
    60+ year old 50'x15' IG 30K gal LRB coated cinderblock with no drains, no skimmers, all plumbing external, spent the last 3 years chipping to substrate to patch, repair and coat with a pool sealing product from Sanitred by myself to hopefully eliminate 2 months yearly getting the antique pool ready. The original "cement pond"

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: It is not green..now what?

it's not 1-2, it's 1ppm or less loss overnight. if you can't do an overnight fc loss test, the only way to be sure is to keep shocking until the water is clear. you can stop now, but if there's some still living, you will be starting over again.
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi Joanne,

Yep, what reebok said.

Also, when you get time, post up a full set of test #'s.

Remember, do not test pH when FC is above 10ppm-ish as it can read a false high pH.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~