Algae Keeps Returning

Jun 7, 2016
Houston, Texas
I'm so frustrated. We have had our pool for just a little over a year now and I have had to SLAM it at least 5 or 6 times. You would think that I am neglecting it, but I can assure you that I am not. I've been a very attentive student of the TFP and test my water pretty much daily. Here are a few things to note:

* When I have performed a SLAM, I ensure that the water is crystal clear and that I pass an OCLT. The last time I slammed I kept on losing a little bit more FC than 1.0 overnight, so I kept on performing the SLAM for nearly 2 weeks (even though the water was clear).

* Current water stats are:
FC: 11
CYA: 70 (I raised it up this high using hockey pucks because I thought maybe I was losing FC too quick during the day)
pH: 7.6
Alk: 100
Temp: 80

As I mentioned, I really work hard to maintain these types of numbers, yet I am consistently having algae reappear. Not to the point where it takes over my pool, but it really clouds it up quite a bit.

Is it possible I am doing something wrong, or could it be that my filter needs a deep clean? It's only a year old and this had been happening even when it was brand new.

Thank you!!!

The attached pic is not mine since I don't have access to take a picture of my pool right now, but it COULD be mine. Little brown patches start to form in the same spot and they eventually grow larger. When I vacuum the water clouds up big time. If it's not algae I'm not sure what else it be. Pollen?

Attachments

• algae.jpg
    algae.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 171
As suggested, do a Deep cleaning of the sand filter, this will assure you that the sand is in good working condition. Also look into stairs, behind light fixtures and even solar heating panels to make sure they are clean with slam levels of FC.

good luck

Felipe