Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Pebbletec, pH, and Alkalinity

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pebbletec, pH, and Alkalinity

So we are new home and first time pool owners. The pool was resurfaced with Pebbletec, around February or March we believe, by the prior owner.

The pH is rising a bit on its own, which seems to be normal? The alkalinity is high, too. For details, pH was just a bit above 7.8 and alkalinity was at 170, so I added in a gallon of muriatic acid and brought it down to roughly 7.2. However, when I tested today, the Ph was back at 7.8 (it's been creeping up a bit daily as I've been testing), and alkalinity was somehow at 190 (?). I have not been aerating to bring pH back up because, well, it's rising on its own (due to the new plaster/Pebbletec, I believe).

I'd expected alkalinity to go down...I am new to testing so perhaps this is a case of user error. Here are today's numbers.

I have a few questions:

1) is there a target alkalinity I ought to shoot for or just let it be?
    2) should I aerate to bring pH back up after adding acid?
    3) with a new surface, should I aim for a particular pH or just keep knocking it down to 7.2 and see if it keeps creeping back up?

PH 7.8
    FC 3.5
    CC 0.5 (?)
    TC 4
    CH 325
    TA 190
    CYA 55
    First time pool owner as of April 2017. Tempe, AZ.

Pebbletec pool (plaster, I think), somewhere around 30,000 gallons, single speed 1 HP pump, cartridge filter, with a skimmer and a Heyward vacuum running at night for 4 hours.

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: New Pebbletec, pH, and Alkalinity

1) Keep adding acid. Eventually the TA will go down. You might find somewhere close to 50-60 is the best. I don't have Pebble-Tec but I have the slightly less expensive quartz mix, and to be honest, it's just now (3 years later) that my pool is "happy". And by happy I mean doesn't consume a gallon of acid a month. It likes TA of 50 and ph 7.5-7.8