Safety of putting bleach into the pool

spiazza

LifeTime Supporter
Jun 20, 2009
Berkeley Heights, NJ
I'm new to the BBB method and my wife raised a question about the safety of putting bleach into the pool. Her question is if we use 6% normal Clorox bleach, what effect do the other 94% of the ingredients have? Any danger if the little kids swallow the water?

Re: Generic chlorine bleach ok...or just clorox?

Nothing in bleach will cause any problems. The other ingredients are almost entirely salt and water. You don't want to drink bleach straight from the bottle, but once it is mixed into the pool it is just fine.

Re: Generic chlorine bleach ok...or just clorox?

JasonLion said:
Nothing in bleach will cause any problems. The other ingredients are almost entirely salt and water. You don't want to drink bleach straight from the bottle, but once it is mixed into the pool it is just fine.

In an emergency situation (such as hurricane) can you drink the pool water ?

geoshecks said:
The Baltimore municipal supply has 4ppm CL. I just received their annual water quality report. I tested it myself and got the same result. When you turn on the tap in the a.m., the chlorine smell is obvious (must come out of solution in the pipes). At normal maintenance levels, that's the same as the pool water!
GREAT GOOGLY-MOOGLY! :shock: 4ppm for real? Do you use a filter for drinking water?

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
geoshecks said:
The Baltimore municipal supply has 4ppm CL. I just received their annual water quality report. I tested it myself and got the same result. When you turn on the tap in the a.m., the chlorine smell is obvious (must come out of solution in the pipes). At normal maintenance levels, that's the same as the pool water!

Do they also show ammonia on test? It may be that they are using chloramines, as it is stable longer and that may be the smell.

Baltimore city water quality report for 2008