Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Service mode

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Monroe/NJ
    Posts
    80

    Service mode

    I've had a pool for 2 years but this seems like a new pool question. I apologize if this is a stupid question, but what is the purpose of service mode on a pool pump? Other than preventing me from changing settings on the remote, does it serve any function? I searched this question on line and could not find an answer, presumably because it's such a stupid question it's assumed everyone knows the answer...
    Inground Pool Completed April 2015
    Salt Water Generator- Nature 2 Fusion Soft
    33,500 gallons, Gunite/White Plaster
    Cartridge Filtration
    Heat Pump

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Esloser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Millville, NJ
    Posts
    507

    Re: Service mode

    I have a Hayward Prologic. For me, Service Mode makes it so the pumps and valves can only be controlled at the main control panel out by the pool. That way, if I am cleaning the filter, someone in the house can't turn the pump on and shoot water all over me. Or, if I am vacuuming the pool, someone can't switch it into spa mode.
    36,000 Gallon Inground (IG) Gunite Pool with Spa and 12" tanning ledge | White Plaster | Cartridge Filter | Hayward Single Speed Pump (x2) | 400k BTU Hayward Heater | Hayward ProLogic Automation | Taylor K2006 Test Kit | In-pool Cleaner | August / September 2016 Build Date | Build Thread

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Monroe/NJ
    Posts
    80

    Re: Service mode

    That's what I thought...but I was second guessing because the people that opened the pool made a point that they have it on service mode and would come back in a few days to check everything again...like it was doing some sort of diagnostics or something. Oh brother. 🙄

  4. Back To Top    #4
    RadEngr70's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Central, OK
    Posts
    61

    Re: Service mode

    It also keeps the controller from running any timer programs, e.g. Pump/filtration programs - For the same types of reasons Esloser gave.
    16,800 Gal IG; Gunite Quartz Plaster; Hayward E-Command 4 Controller; Hayward SwimClear 600 SQFT Cartridge Filter; Hayward TriStar 2-Speed (SP3210X152); Hayward SharkVacXL; Taylor K-2006 ; Fill Water (Water Softened) - TA: 390, pH: 7.2

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,274

    Re: Service mode

    Jim,

    Think of it as a "Manual" mode... nothing will happen unless you specifically tell it to happen.

    I think it is called "Service" mode because a pool service tech can then take command of everything from the outside panel. The pool owners does not have to be at home and the tech does not need to use a remote.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    sacramento CA
    Posts
    147

    Re: Service mode

    It's different with pentair eztouch when a intelliflo vs pump is connected. When I put it in service mode the panel does not operate. The programs/schedules are disabled. After a few seconds the controller on the pump can be activated manually. When I asked pentair about this they replied that service mode on the ET is used to disable the panel from accidental operation by their ScreenLogic program, etc.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •