Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Acid washing filters?

1. Back To Top    #1

In the Industry

Acid washing filters?

Pool service noob here... But is there really any reason to acid wash a filter? other than making it white? I mean I figure a normal rinse and clean would do the trick of cleaning it till you need to replace the filter? Why run the risk of mixing acid with water, ratio's, plus flushing that stuff everywhere in and after filling a garbage can? Just clean the filter without the acid??? Keep it clean till needing to replace filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Acid washing filters?

I never have, I mostly use water only, occasionally some TSP. More here, Re: How to clean a cartridge filter
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

3. Back To Top    #3

You would only need the acid wash if the CH was high and the pH was not well maintained so that calcium scaling was forming on the filter media (cartridge or DE fins).
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

I've used a little acid with water to clean cartridge filters years back. It did clean them pretty well and get the pressure down like new. But I'd consider it more of a last ditch effort as I believe it eats up the material a bit. It seemed like the material was more brittle after.