Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    73

    Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    We recently opened our pool. The water temp is 70. We have an Aqua Rite salt system which according to the diagnostics is generating chlorine. Unfortunately, the amount of chlorine in the pool is 0. The filtration system runs 24/7. According to Hayward tech support the system is generating chlorine ( ran through all the diagnostic menus with one of their tech support people). He suggested having the pool tested for phosphates and the level was quite high - 2700 ppb. Hayward claims this is the issue. We have never had an algae problem so the presence of phosphates in itself is not a worry. But according to Hayward the Aqua Rite system will simply not work until the phosphate level is reduced. The local pool store claims they have been getting quite a few similar complaints this year (our region supposedly introduced a type phosphate in the water system this year- something to do with corrosion of pipes).

    Does any of this make sense?

    Am trying to keep the whole chemical process as simple as possible so if there is another explanation to the 0 chlorine then that would be great.
    Philip
    12.5x21.5x52" on-ground 29" below ground (6000 gallons water), .85 HP Hayward SP26115VSP , Hayward XStream 100 sq.ft. cartridge filter, Hayward AquaRite salt system, 160 sqft of Aquatherm solar panels on 12' high flat roof 25' away from pump, Goldline auto controller for solar, Heat Pump, May->October @77+ in Toronto, Pool Python.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    TFP Guide


    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Chandler AZ
    Posts
    1,061

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    SWG is great at maintaining chlorine levels - but not so great at adding a bunch of chlorine at once in a short period of time. With an FC of 0 (zero), your best bet is to add bleach or liquid chlorine to attain your desired FC level. The SWG should then be able to maintain it.

    What testkit are you using? Post a complete set of current results from one of the recommended testkits..

    FC
    CC
    TA
    CH
    CYA
    Water Temp

    It may also be prudent to do an OCLT to see if you have any nasties growing in there: Perform the Overnight FC Loss Test (OCLT)
    Gene
    ​12,300 gal IG play pool - Pebbletec - built 10/1999 || Hayward S360SX 36" sand filter || Hayward Ecostar SP3400 VSP || A&A In-Floor cleaning system || Quik Water Leveler || Quik Dek-clor (limited use)
    TF-100 testkit / Speedstir - A good test kit is not an expense, it's an investment

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JoeGolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL
    Posts
    200

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by pmcd View Post
    We recently opened our pool. The water temp is 70. We have an Aqua Rite salt system which according to the diagnostics is generating chlorine. Unfortunately, the amount of chlorine in the pool is 0. The filtration system runs 24/7. According to Hayward tech support the system is generating chlorine ( ran through all the diagnostic menus with one of their tech support people). He suggested having the pool tested for phosphates and the level was quite high - 2700 ppb. Hayward claims this is the issue. We have never had an algae problem so the presence of phosphates in itself is not a worry. But according to Hayward the Aqua Rite system will simply not work until the phosphate level is reduced. The local pool store claims they have been getting quite a few similar complaints this year (our region supposedly introduced a type phosphate in the water system this year- something to do with corrosion of pipes).

    Does any of this make sense?

    Am trying to keep the whole chemical process as simple as possible so if there is another explanation to the 0 chlorine then that would be great.
    see this thread, it is related to your issue

    Not generating Chlorine due to high phosphates

    I don't know how your phosphates were tested but was 2700 the max that the test could see? Could it have actually been a higher reading if the test procedure did not limit it?

    In my case the test used had a max out at 2500 but we suspected that it may have been 4- 10 times as it took multiple high-level applications of phosphate remover to get the reading back down <100. Once I got the phosphate reading down my 5-6 year old SWG worked just fine again and my chlorine readings came back up, I did not add any liquid chlorine, just turned up the percent/runtime of the SWG for 24 hours and not I am back to my normal settings.
    I'm a black and white type of guy ... the only gray in my life is the hair on my head
    750 gal fiberglass built in spa with Hayward equipment. Pump is SP3010X15AZ Control is Aqua Plus with a T-cell-3 SWG and a H400FD Heater, Hayward C12002 cartridge filter filter

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    When did we start talking about hot tubs Chemnut?

    Phosphates are added to many municipal water systems to prevent corrosion, but your gut feeling is correct that this is typically only a problem for an inadequately chlorinated pool. In your case I agree with proavia that you need to add chlorine manually to see if you can get a reading to hold before you start falling down the phosphate removal hole. If your chlorine level is testing at zero then algae is almost certainly forming. Personally I would jump straight to SLAM level and see how well the pool holds chlorine. After you pass SLAM completion criteria and rule out an algae problem give the SWG a try again. If you are still noticing a problem then by all means follow the manufacturer's recommendations. Removing phosphates won't cause any issues aside of temporary cloudiness, it is just a cost that in most cases is unnecessary.
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    231

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    Maybe when the link was provided for a 750 gal spa? Sorry, I shall cease posting.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    73

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeGolan View Post
    see this thread, it is related to your issue

    Not generating Chlorine due to high phosphates

    I don't know how your phosphates were tested but was 2700 the max that the test could see? Could it have actually been a higher reading if the test procedure did not limit it?

    In my case the test used had a max out at 2500 but we suspected that it may have been 4- 10 times as it took multiple high-level applications of phosphate remover to get the reading back down <100. Once I got the phosphate reading down my 5-6 year old SWG worked just fine again and my chlorine readings came back up, I did not add any liquid chlorine, just turned up the percent/runtime of the SWG for 24 hours and not I am back to my normal settings.
    The 2700 ppb seems accurate. Had it tested at two different pool stores. Using Phos Free will require quite a few 1 litre applications to get the phosphate level down to under 300 or so. Makes me wonder if just emptying the pool say halfway would be a better approach.

    At this point algae is not an issue as the temperature has been very low for May. So the very low stabilizer reading ( basically 0) doesn't seem critical yet.

    Have never had readings like this. Will start the Phos Free thing today. Sigh ...


    Philip
    12.5x21.5x52" on-ground 29" below ground (6000 gallons water), .85 HP Hayward SP26115VSP , Hayward XStream 100 sq.ft. cartridge filter, Hayward AquaRite salt system, 160 sqft of Aquatherm solar panels on 12' high flat roof 25' away from pump, Goldline auto controller for solar, Heat Pump, May->October @77+ in Toronto, Pool Python.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    Donldson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    Wait. You have zero CYA?
    JD - 28' Round Above Ground Pool, 17,000 Gallons. Dual speed Jacuzzi pump with cartridge filter. Dual speed 1 HP pump, Hayward S210T sand filter
    Pool School - PoolMath

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    73

    Re: Aqua Rite Salt System, Phosphates, chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by Donldson View Post
    Wait. You have zero CYA?
    FC=.6ppm
    ph=8.4
    Alkalinity=110 ppm
    cyanuric acid = 1 ppm
    phosphate =2642 ppb
    salt = 3500 ppm
    Philip
    12.5x21.5x52" on-ground 29" below ground (6000 gallons water), .85 HP Hayward SP26115VSP , Hayward XStream 100 sq.ft. cartridge filter, Hayward AquaRite salt system, 160 sqft of Aquatherm solar panels on 12' high flat roof 25' away from pump, Goldline auto controller for solar, Heat Pump, May->October @77+ in Toronto, Pool Python.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •