Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Help identifying my panel (?)

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Help identifying my panel (?)

    All - first thank you so much for existing. I've been lurking here for 5 years and this has been my go-to for, well, everything.

    So, we had a minor emergency last week where my automatic valve didn't stop where it needed to (pump was on....) and we had to replace the (16 year old) filter because back pressure caused it to finally kick the bucket. I wasn't too upset since it was already leaking and was about to go on its own. I decided since I was going to have someone come out to do work, I might as well switch to a salt pool at once to save myself hauling the bleach all the time. The guy got it up and running - seemingly with no problems....

    Pump switches off as per the program. Next morning - nothing. Anything that is on that circuit inside my automation box doesn't function. (so this is the heater, the pump, and the salt cell). The blower, the other pump, and the cleaner pump all still work. I'm thinking none of the ones that are on that circuit are getting power. When you push the button for the pump (which would send power to the heater and the salt cell also), you hear a click and then nothing. So, while the guy will probably come out to look I'm wondering if that part of the panel isn't dead (who knows how old it is)

    So - can anyone tell me what type of panel this is? the front of the box just says Jandy Industries. (or alternatively where to look inside the guts of it to figure out the model)

    20170511_133140.jpg
    Snazzy,
    30,000 Gallons IG, DE filter, SWG, Plaster, 2 HP centurion for filter and same for waterfall, 20+ years old, Polaris 360, hot tub attached

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    And in case this helps. I think the panel on the top right isn't transferring power correctly - let me know if you disagree. (I disconnected the salt system to test in case you are wondering what those wires are hanging by themselves). The outside of the box (not any of the guts) has a date of 1999.

    20170511_121118.jpg
    Snazzy,
    30,000 Gallons IG, DE filter, SWG, Plaster, 2 HP centurion for filter and same for waterfall, 20+ years old, Polaris 360, hot tub attached

  3. Back To Top    #3
    AftonJeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    1,147

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    I have no idea what panel that is. If somebody here does not know email jandy customer service.

    First thing I would do is make sure you have power to it. If you have a volt meter or voltage detector confirm that you have power. If you do, shut it off and make sure everything is hooked up the way it should be and nothing is loose. The only change you had was the addition of the salt cell so disconnecting that makes sense. Make sure the installer didn't loosen anything else.

    If there is a GFI make sure it isn't tripped. They do go bad and need to be replaced from time to time.
    20'x48' 40,000 gal. Vinyl, Pentair Intelliflo 2 VST, Sta-Rite PLM300 System 2 Cartridge Filter, and a Pentair Mastertemp 250 heater all controlled by Pentair Easy Touch with Screen Logic. Dolphin Premier pool attendant.
    I've got iron stained well water. TF-100 and Speed Stir, Lamotte 3017-G for Borates

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Woodland, Ca
    Posts
    235

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    What are the red and black wires that don't appear to be attached to anything in the second picture? They look important
    Build Video 2016 -- Solar Pad 20.5K gunite (37'x15') rectangle (3.5'-7') deep-- MicroFusion Laguna finish -- Jandy VS pump, cartridge and iAqualink RS -- Polaris 360 Black -- 2 Laminar jets -- 2 nichless 30w color led -- 550sq/ft Heliocol solar -- Soft water auto fill -- Stenner 17gpd

  5. Back To Top    #5

    TFP Guide

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    tucson, arizona
    Posts
    1,311

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    I believe that was the Jandy Ji series and was upgraded to the RS system. https://images.inyopools.com/cloud/d...dy7092reve.pdf

  6. Back To Top    #6

    TFP Guide

    chiefwej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    3,109

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    I also see what looks like a temprature sensor hanging loose just below the box in the first picture. Not sure what temp it's monitoring
    chiefwej
    Tucson, AZ
    16x36 rectangular (19k) Pebble Tec play pool/spa, Pentair Intelliflo VS 011018, Super II 2hp (spa), Aqua Rite T-15 SWG, Pro Grid 60 DE, H400 & Heliocol Solar, Dolphin S-300, fill water w/high CH and TA, 50 ppm borates,TF-100 test kit, Smart Home/Alexa pool control

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,919

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    So everything worked just fine until the guy installed the salt system? If so, is that all he did besides maybe a new filter for you?
    Paul
    Gastek Pool & Gas Services If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. Gastek Google review,
    Check out some videos on my YouTube channel - Gastekservices on YouTube

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,701

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    That's an old Jandy JI series (pre 1995) that's been converted to an Aqualink RS electronic control.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,919

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    Quote Originally Posted by chiefwej View Post
    I also see what looks like a temprature sensor hanging loose just below the box in the first picture. Not sure what temp it's monitoring
    That would be the air temp sensor.
    Paul
    Gastek Pool & Gas Services If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. Gastek Google review,
    Check out some videos on my YouTube channel - Gastekservices on YouTube

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,701

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    Have you checked all the breakers feeding the pump, etc.? The power center controls and the pump, etc. may be powered separately, so check them all. Keep in mind that you can't always go by the handle position either. It's a good idea to flip them off and then back on.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,764

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    Second picture you posted, label the connections from top to bottom 1-8 (in your mind).

    1 and 3 should have power all the time (210~240VAC).
    2 and 4 are the switched connections. You should have power on those only when you switch the pump on.

    If you have power on 1 and 3 but not 2 and 4 when the switch is on, something happened to the relay/board. If you are hearing the click, maybe the relay is ok, and you have just lost a contact somewhere on the board. Note: if you added something to that relay or circuit, you may have overloaded or exceeded the relay or boards max current load and this is your issue.

    If you have no power on any of the connections (1 through 4) You may have a tripped breaker. If a breaker is tripped, it may not look as if it is on or off. You will need to physically push the breaker to the off position then back to the on position. Just "flipping" it to off will not reset it.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    Thank you to everyone that replied. Through your efforts I fixed it!! (well, almost at least I know what part I need to fix it). There was no power to the pump, the salt system, and the heater because the relay they were attached to went out. Almost like Pool Clown said - relay 2&4 worked but 1&3 didn't work. I've hooked them all up to the working relay except the heater (don't need it now) and am running them on over-ride until I can get a new relay.

    So the next question....perhaps to Pool Clown....how can I tell the rating of a relay board? My relay board is pcb3652D. It did run for a bit with the salt system, 2HP pump and Gas heater all on that relay but then blew out. I can replace it and hook all three back to one relay but I don't want to blow it again. On the other hand, the prior relay is probably as old as the filter I just replaced (just a guess - maybe from 03?) so could have just died because it was time to die.

    Thanks again - y'all are awesome.

    Thanks!!!
    Snazzy,
    30,000 Gallons IG, DE filter, SWG, Plaster, 2 HP centurion for filter and same for waterfall, 20+ years old, Polaris 360, hot tub attached

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    back up a sec....I just re-read what Pool Clown wrote and I think I"m misunderstanding. The circuit is line, load, line, load (etc, etc) from top to bottom. The top four screws are the line/load line/load for the pump/filter/cell (that doesn't work). The next set of 4 screws is for the pool cleaner (and I've got everything running on that right now on override) - this works fine even though it is on the same relay board. The bottom 8 screws are for the fountain (works fine - has the pool cleaner on it temporarily so my pool doesn't become a mess) and the blower (works fine).

    I was thinking what was blown was that top circuit board - well - part of that top circuit board to be exact about it- the relay between the top 4 screws. Nothing I put on that set of screws works - but could the problem be on the control board rather than the relay board?
    Snazzy,
    30,000 Gallons IG, DE filter, SWG, Plaster, 2 HP centurion for filter and same for waterfall, 20+ years old, Polaris 360, hot tub attached

  14. Back To Top    #14

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,764

    Help identifying my panel (?)

    Yes, you are on the right track. Everything you said (in the "back up a sec" post) makes sense. There may be an amperage rating stamped on the relay.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Help identifying my panel (?)

    Thanks again all who helped. I replaced the relay board that had gone bad which was easy to do except with three things going into the relay board it was impossible to fit the wires tightly.

    I ended up tying the heater, salt system and pump wires together with those electrical connector screw on things and used another stub of wire to connect that to the board.

    And now all is right with the world.

    Thanks again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •