Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: We're doing a massive pool rehab and have a couple questions

1. Back To Top    #1

We're doing a massive pool rehab and have a couple questions

I'm new to pools and to spas, First off the pool has an inground spillover spa that had a heater at one time but now none of the related heating items are present. Spa is basically half of an octagon. Approximately 5/7. I'm in southern ms. During the summer the average temp here is 90 at night it's usually in the 70s my question is will a 5.5 letter heater work for this hot tub I have a system from an older above ground spa I was contemplating using but it might not be worth the trouble. Says it's a pinnacle. Anyway any info is appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: We're doing a massive pool rehab and have a couple questions

What is a 5.5 letter heater?

Any heater will add heat, size impacts how quickly it will.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Is that a 5.5 kWh heater? It won't work very well for an inground spa. They are designed to maintain continuous heat for an insulated and covered hot tub. Heating up concrete and the ground around it will take forever and it will have to run a lot to maintain the heat.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

4. Back To Top    #4