Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Should I cancel my pool company opening??

1. Back To Top    #1

Should I cancel my pool company opening??

Hey guys, supposed to have my pool opened tomorrow for first opening since I had pool installed. They want $315 to do opening. Also now they tell me vacuum isn't included that's an additional $85 per hour and $35 to clean my salt cell.
    I also have an auto cover so they don't even have to take a cover off and fold it. I have never done an opening before although im sure it's not difficult. I am a "do it yourself' guy and it pains me to pay someone to do this.

I do have an overflow spa connected to pool not sure if that makes opening any more difficult. Thoughts???
    20x40 rectangle, 28,500 gallons, Vinyl liner, Hayward cartridge filter VSP, Hayward aqua connect automation, connected spa with overflow, Hayward heater, automatic cover, TF100 kit

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Should I cancel my pool company opening??

You really have two choices. 1) Pay them and watch everything that they do. Ask what everything does and why it's there. 2) Post pictures and ask questions here. Get great advice and learn how to do it with our help.
    Bob - INTEX 12x24 owner (not setup yet), 'New to me' Kreepy Krauly Sand Shark, Test kit: TF-100 w/Speed Stir

3. Back To Top    #3

I never close, so have no experience. BUT, I just can not understand how they charge so much money for what in my mind needs to get done.

Seems like this is it:
    1. Clean off the cover
    2. Remove the cover
    3. Install the drain plugs in the pump and filter.
    4. Install the pump basket and lid
    5. Remove any return jet plugs and skimmer plugs in the pool
    6. Fill up the pool with water
    7. Scoop out any debris in the pool
    8. Put the valves in the right position
    9. Start the pump
    (10. Throw a bunch of chemicals in the pool ... NOT TFP recommended)