Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    herndon, va
    Posts
    13

    Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    Hi,

    Here's my situation:

    We opened the pool two weeks ago and had some filter issues which required the filter tank and filter to be replaced. The pool is now clean and I was ready to add salt. I only had 2 40lb bags, so I added those recognizing I needed more. I checked the salt generator unit and no power light. The LCD was on, but no power light or generating light.

    I'm going to assume the wiring is ok as it was working fine for 3 years.

    My cell voltage and cell current are reading 0.4 and 0. So I guess I have a power supply issues somewhere?

    I checked the fuse and it looked ok - no visible break. I read that it could be the limiter. I took a picture - I think it looked ok, but maybe there was a hint of black on the inside of the brown casing that might have indicated an issue? To my untrained eye I didn't think it looked significant but would appreciate some thoughts.

    Any ideas on how to proceed? I couldn't see any signs of burn out on the back of the circuit board - no obvious issues on the front either.

    I head some generators don't power up if there's no salt in the pool - that sounds unlikely but could that be an issue? I don't know my salt levels (getting it tested tomorrow) but it's got to be low - I've barely added any salt this season.

    Thanks

    Rich
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    I think that the limiter is the likely problem.

    I think that the circular mark is probably a crack.

    You can use SL322R025 or AS322R025. The SL322R025 is easier to solder into the board.
    Support the site

    Trouble Free Pool is a free resource. The people who answer questions are volunteers. If you find the site to be a good resource, please consider making a donation to help support the site. Thanks.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Ashland, Ky
    Posts
    1

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    I had the no power light starting pool this year. Red no flow flashing light.. then all lights would go out. Replaced the pcb, as per pool suppliers recommendation....well, still had same no power out.. Figured out the problem. When u put in a new pcb, there are two metal jumpers at lower left where power connects, 1 and 2, then 3 and 4. There aren't any instructions with the board that tell you to do this..but fixed the problem. All working now.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Mechanicsville
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    Yup, the limiter is shot. That style board is a pain to desolder because the large pads make it hard to get enough heat to get the old one off. Be patient and you can get it done.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JoeGolan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL
    Posts
    200

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    Quote Originally Posted by Knemo77 View Post
    Yup, the limiter is shot. That style board is a pain to desolder because the large pads make it hard to get enough heat to get the old one off. Be patient and you can get it done.
    You just need the correct wattage soldering iron/gun... along with a solder sucker or solder wick to remove old solder, makes it much easier to remove the component with most of the solder removed.
    I'm a black and white type of guy ... the only gray in my life is the hair on my head
    750 gal fiberglass built in spa with Hayward equipment. Pump is SP3010X15AZ Control is Aqua Plus with a T-cell-3 SWG and a H400FD Heater, Hayward C12002 cartridge filter filter

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Ridgefield, CT
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    Hello all -

    I installed a new Hawyard PCB ($185 on Amazon) and got the dreaded no power light. Drat. I followed all directions to the letter.

    Was worried it was my transformer or the small front board with the dial.

    Thanks to this great board, I figured it out thanks to howercat.

    @ howercat - this is the same exact problem I had with the new control board.

    Delivered incorrectly - the 2 and 3 power terminals were jumped, and it should be as follows:

    1 & 2 jumped
    3 & 4 jumped

    The board came with 2 & 3 jumped (as pictured on newly installed board below) and as an aside, there are two jumpers in the 2&3 spot, so my thinking is that this is a planned feature - you just need to know about it...

    IMG_0417.JPG.jpg

    This is my original board below, and in the lower left, you can see the jumpers in place on 1&2 and 3&4 - the correct way.

    IMG_0416.JPG.jpg

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Ridgefield, CT
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    You nailed it howercat! thanks

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    The board comes set for 230 volts. See diagram on inside door. Yours is probably 115 volts.
    Support the site

    Trouble Free Pool is a free resource. The people who answer questions are volunteers. If you find the site to be a good resource, please consider making a donation to help support the site. Thanks.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Ridgefield, CT
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    Yes indeed.

    Mine needed to be Set and wired for 115v.

    Makes perfect sense now.

    Thanks

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Cape Coral FL.
    Posts
    5

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    I have a similar issue after change my T-15 Cell (old cell had a melt down). After the replacement of the cell the system came up normally and all looked good until the power light started to blink and finally went out after 3-5 minutes leaving only the generating light on. The power light will stay off even after a quick power cycle but the generating light will come back on. If I turn the system off for an extended period of time (let everything cool down) the system will once again power on normally with both the power and generating lights coming on after the flow light turns off but again the power light will go out after 3-5 minutes leaving only the generating light on.

    I have checked the diagnostic display voltage and current per the manual when the system is in this state and they are within the specifications given but again only the generating light is on. So I'm not sure if the system is generating or not. I have changed the fuse and the current limiter as the posts here show them as high fail items but neither fixed the failure mode I'm having. Before I buy a new board has anyone seen this failure mode before and where you able to fix it? Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Syracuse NY
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    What is a pcb?

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Syracuse NY
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    I have the same problem with power on the diagnostics but no power or generating lights working. Can you tell me what the limiter looks like so I can try to identify if that's the issue and do you know where I would get a new one?
    Thanks for any help you can provide.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    477

    Re: Aqua Rite salt generator - no power light

    Quote Originally Posted by corlyoc View Post
    What is a pcb?
    Printed Circuit Board

    Quote Originally Posted by corlyoc View Post
    I have the same problem with power on the diagnostics but no power or generating lights working. Can you tell me what the limiter looks like so I can try to identify if that's the issue and do you know where I would get a new one?
    Thanks for any help you can provide.
    Images of the In-Rush Current Limiter/Suppressor or Thermistor on the AQR PCB are posted above. It's the black disc labeled RZ3, top right of the board.
    How to diagnose a bad thermistor on the AQR board > https://www.troublefreepool.com/thre...Bad-Thermistor

    One good source is the Digi-Key website, part# 570-1062-ND for type SL32 2R025 or 570-1105-ND for the AS32 2R025. Get the latter if the solder pads on your board can accommodate the footprint.
    Suggest you Google "Aquarite board repair" and watch some youtube videos on how to replace the thermistor on the AQR board.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •