Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Skimmer/return not working on filter setting

1. Back To Top    #1

Skimmer/return not working on filter setting

This is my first year opening a pool. I got the house and pool at the end of last summer and used info from TFP to close it. I opened the pool and I seem to have the pump primed, but nothing is happening with the skimmer or return when the pump is running in "Filter" mode. The pump is full of water, the water is moving in there, but nothing is happening out in the pool.

I tried changing it to Recirculate to see if anything happened and the skimmer and return work perfectly fine when set to Recirculate.

Any thoughts on what I might have done wrong?
    40,000 gallons, IG, Plaster
    DE Filter - Hayward, Hayward super pump
    Pool built in 1960's
    Using Taylor K-2006 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Skimmer/return not working on filter setting

Is the filter completely clogged up? Are you sure about the valve settings?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Sounds like it's time to open up the filter and look inside.
    Any chance the filter froze during the winter and the ice crushed the standpipe and/or screens?
    Last edited by Richard320; 05-08-2017 at 08:56 PM. Reason: wrong filter terms
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.