What exactly is Baqua

May 2, 2017
Lawrenceburg
Can someone explain exactly what Baqua is? I always though it was simply a name brand. I have used Baqaucil products last year, such as their Total Alkalinity and calcium hardness before finding the TFP method. Or is Baqua a different method of sanitizing your pool instead of chlorine? I'm only asking because this is my first year doing TFP method, and I did not change out my sand. However, the sand was changed last year while I was using dichlor pucks, shock, and algaecide.

My pool is crystal clear and having no issues, I just would rather change it out now if I know I will need to later down the road.

Bacqua is a brand name for a non-chlorine sanitizer -Biguanide which is totally incompatible with chlorine.

Biguanides vs chlorine

Maddie :flower:

I wonder if the reason you managed this was that Alkalinity Increaser is just a fancy name and pricey bag of baking soda?
And Calcium is calcium, so it didn't actually contain biguaide?

Baquacil branded products like pH adjusters and CH and TA increasers are the same as any other brand. TA increaser is always overpriced baking soda for instance. Things like Baquacil sanitizer or oxidizer should never be used in a chlorine pool however.

Thanks guys, this is exactly what I was using, Baquacil branded Total Alkalinity. We never used their santizer or oxidizer, just regular 3" tablets. So we should be good with our sand then, right? Our pool is crystal clear since we have been using bleach this year, thank goodness we've found TFP. :cool:

Thanks guys, this is exactly what I was using, Baquacil branded Total Alkalinity. We never used their santizer or oxidizer, just regular 3" tablets. So we should be good with our sand then, right? Our pool is crystal clear since we have been using bleach this year, thank goodness we've found TFP. :cool:

Yes, thankfully, right?! Chlorine is the *best* sanitizer we know of for pools. Why folks fret about it is beyond me?

Maddie :flower: