New pool owner looking for help!

Hey Everyone!

I am new to the pool world and working to better understand how to balance my pool. There are so many different opinions out there and I thought I get them here on my own thread :)

The pool is super clean and heated to 78-80 degrees. Next I am working to better understand the chemistry. I have the Taylor k-2005 test kit so that I can get an accurate testing.

So my first question is what do I change first? then after I change it how long before I test again and change the next item? And of course that leads to the following thoughts of what order do I try to balance everything in?

Thanks! Excited to be here and to have a pool!

I have some links to share:

Pool School - Recommended Levels

Pool School - Recommended Pool Chemicals

https://www.troublefreepool.com/calc.html

This should get you started.

The first thing I would do is buy some CYA. You can find it at Walmart or Lowes. Shoot for a CYA of 20 for right now as there might be some in the water already but it is too low to read. It is easy to add but hard to take out.

How are you adding the FC?

I would also like to see you buy this to finish up your test kit:

TFTestkits.net

Your FC test only goes up to 5. The one I linked to goes as high as you need it to.

I am going to give you some *light* reading to do. It is a lot of info so take it a bite at a time. Ask any and all questions you have while your learn it:

Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

I will check back in on you in a little while :hug:

Kim:kim:

Hello Joe and welcome to TFP! :wave: You can use the Taylor K-2005, but it's missing the testing part to test FC above 5ppm, and because it's a drop test it's much more accurate. So I'd recommended ordering the TFTestkits.net right away. As for the numbers above:
- CH might be low. Your signature doesn't say what type of pool you have (vinyl, plaster, fiberglass?).