Newbie, Added Cynuric Acid too early

Jul 3, 2007
Maryland
Hi all, I am new to the pool thing and already I'm messing up.

I also posted this on Garden Web and was told it was better suited for this site. My pool was plastered with Quartz aggregate last Thursday and opened yesterday. I videotaped the instruction but somehow missed the part of waiting to add the Chlorine Booster until after the first backwash. The pool guy said run the pump 24 hours a day and added 2 chlorine tablets to each skimmer. He said to add a quart of muratic acid asap and 4lb.s of Anthony Sylvan Chlorine Booster (100 % cynuric acid) to the skimmer after the first backwash and the DE was replaced. I added the muratic acid and immediately followed with the Chlorine booster. I then watched the video and learned that I was supposed to wait until after the first back wash for the Booster. Have I hurt my Quartz aggregate plaster? If so, what can I do?

BTW, he sold me 4 gallons of muratic acid for $43. and this Chlorine Booster for $23., how bad did he rip me off? I know, shame on me for not checking prices first but he said I needed these items asap.

Probably the reason they tell you to wait until the first backwash is to avoid flushing the CYA away. It is very slow to dissolve, so it tends to end up trapped in the filter a while, and when you backwash you lose some. No big deal other than you may have to add more after you test your CYA and see what the level is.

Muriatic acid varies a bit in price, but I've never give more than $6 a gallon for it.

Chalk it up to learning.

Spend an hour or two reading these boards, losing $20 to muriatic acid(which is somewhat legit) isn't really that bad. You can get taken for much much worse.