Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Turning SWG off??

1. Back To Top    #1

Turning SWG off??

So I am new to the SWG. Grew up with a chlorine tabs. Just had new system installed. Reading through the manual for the Salt System I came across this warning: This Salt System power supply must be connected to the same source power supply as the circulating pump provides water flow to the cell. Any isolation switch, time clock, or control that operated the circulating pump must simultaneously operate the Salt System control. Page 2 http://cdn.lesliespool.com/wpdf/INST...t%20System.pdf

Does this mean that the pump timer should also run the SWG or that I need to manually turn off the salt system? Emailed Leslie's (who did the install and now owns Jacuzzi) and did not get much help.
    In Ground 20,000 Vinyl
    Jacuzzi VSP-150, Jacuzzi J-SS40 Salt chlorine generator , Jacuzzi Sand Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Turning SWG off??

Welcome to TFP!!!

The pump timer should also cut power to the SWG. The flow switch should not be relied upon as the primary shut-off.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for the response. Since my pump timer is not connected should I just be manually turning it off every night? I have just been leaving it on. Anyone else run into this problem?
    In Ground 20,000 Vinyl

4. Back To Top    #4

You should have it wired as soon as possible to prevent accidental operation with the pump off. In the interim, yes, please manually turn off the generator anytime the pump is off, not just at night.