Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Adding More Salt Question

  1. Back To Top    #1
    mickey4paws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E. MI
    Posts
    540

    Adding More Salt Question

    We've had our AquaRite SWG running for a couple of weeks now and I'd like to add more salt. It's at 3000 ppm and I want to raise it another 200 ppm. My question is do I need to turn off the SWG for 24 hours and let the new addition of salt circulate, or is that not necessary? Thanks
    IG 12' x 39' - 20k Gallons - Vinyl Lined - StaRite Cristal-Flo II 26" Sand Filter - Hayward SuperPump 1 hp - Dolphin Dynamic autocleaner - Lochinvar Energyrite gas heater - Aqua Rite SWCG T-15 - TF100 Test Kit - Skimlite Duallly 9016 pole (great pole)

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    No need to turn it off, pour in the salt, brush it around a bit, and let it dissolve.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    near the swamp
    Posts
    802

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    No you can add it right into the pool.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    mickey4paws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E. MI
    Posts
    540

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Ok, thanks very much. I was wondering because I know when it was new and we were initially adding salt, the SWG was supposed to be off for 24 hours before being turned on.
    IG 12' x 39' - 20k Gallons - Vinyl Lined - StaRite Cristal-Flo II 26" Sand Filter - Hayward SuperPump 1 hp - Dolphin Dynamic autocleaner - Lochinvar Energyrite gas heater - Aqua Rite SWCG T-15 - TF100 Test Kit - Skimlite Duallly 9016 pole (great pole)

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Thats because on initial startup, the salt had not had a chance to dissolve and come up to proper levels for generator operation. It takes a day or so for any new salt addition to completely disperse and show up as an increased concnetration.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    mickey4paws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E. MI
    Posts
    540

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Ok, thanks Brad, I really appreciate it.
    IG 12' x 39' - 20k Gallons - Vinyl Lined - StaRite Cristal-Flo II 26" Sand Filter - Hayward SuperPump 1 hp - Dolphin Dynamic autocleaner - Lochinvar Energyrite gas heater - Aqua Rite SWCG T-15 - TF100 Test Kit - Skimlite Duallly 9016 pole (great pole)

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mickey4paws
    We've had our AquaRite SWG running for a couple of weeks now and I'd like to add more salt. It's at 3000 ppm and I want to raise it another 200 ppm. My question is do I need to turn off the SWG for 24 hours and let the new addition of salt circulate, or is that not necessary? Thanks
    When you say "it's at 3000" are you talking about an accurate test or what the SWG control box is reporting? The control box can be very inaccurate. I trust my AquaChek test strips over the SWG.
    22,000 Gunite, Cart Filter, Aquarite SWG

  8. Back To Top    #8
    mickey4paws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E. MI
    Posts
    540

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Thanks, Frank. I just took an Aquacheck test strip test and it's showing 5.6 or 3380 ppm. So that's more accurate, and I don't need to add any salt?
    IG 12' x 39' - 20k Gallons - Vinyl Lined - StaRite Cristal-Flo II 26" Sand Filter - Hayward SuperPump 1 hp - Dolphin Dynamic autocleaner - Lochinvar Energyrite gas heater - Aqua Rite SWCG T-15 - TF100 Test Kit - Skimlite Duallly 9016 pole (great pole)

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mickey4paws
    Thanks, Frank. I just took an Aquacheck test strip test and it's showing 5.6 or 3380 ppm. So that's more accurate, and I don't need to add any salt?
    I would not think you need more salt. The test strips are pretty accurate. If your Aquarite average reading is low, you can reset it with this method:

    calibrating-an-aqua-rite-t11556.html?hilit=Calibrate%20Aquarite
    22,000 Gunite, Cart Filter, Aquarite SWG

  10. Back To Top    #10
    mickey4paws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    S.E. MI
    Posts
    540

    Re: Adding More Salt Question

    Quote Originally Posted by frankgh
    Quote Originally Posted by mickey4paws
    Thanks, Frank. I just took an Aquacheck test strip test and it's showing 5.6 or 3380 ppm. So that's more accurate, and I don't need to add any salt?
    I would not think you need more salt. The test strips are pretty accurate. If your Aquarite average reading is low, you can reset it with this method:

    calibrating-an-aqua-rite-t11556.html?hilit=Calibrate%20Aquarite
    Thanks so much, Frank, I really appreciate it. I was wondering if it was possible to calibrate it. I am going to try this.
    IG 12' x 39' - 20k Gallons - Vinyl Lined - StaRite Cristal-Flo II 26" Sand Filter - Hayward SuperPump 1 hp - Dolphin Dynamic autocleaner - Lochinvar Energyrite gas heater - Aqua Rite SWCG T-15 - TF100 Test Kit - Skimlite Duallly 9016 pole (great pole)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •