Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: CYA dropped to 20

1. Back To Top    #1

CYA dropped to 20

It's my least favorite test. It seems to have a mind of its own. Regardless, last week when I opened I was at CYA 30. Today I was at 20. I did it twice to double check.

Full results

pH - 8
    FC - 5
    CC - 0
    CH - 325
    TA- 70
    CYA - 20
    72 degrees with solar cover on.

Crystal TFP clear.

Last summer I was at CYA 30 pretty much the whole time but I seem to have dropped.

My question: From reading previous threads about using trichlor pucks I believe if each 3" puck adds 3 ppm of CYA in a 10,000 gallon pool then I will need about 9-10 pucks for my 27000 gallon pool to increase 10 ppm CYA (getting me to 30). I have never used a puck in my pool before so I have no idea how long it would take to get 10 pucks dissolved. Is that stupid? Should I just break out the CYA and the sock? I have a huge thing of pucks (that I bought prior to TFP) and would like to use them up.

Thoughts? Maybe one a week for a few a months on top of a sock addition?

John
    27,000 gal concrete rectangle, built Oct '15, DE filter, Jandy PHPM 1.5 HP, Hayward HP21104T heat pump, TF-100

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: CYA dropped to 20

You already bought them so might as well use them. What I would do is set aside 10 or 11 pucks load a bunch into a floater, adjust as needed to maintain an FC of around 3ppm. I have never used pucks either so I don't know how long it will take to use up all the pucks but look at it as vacation from having to manually add chlorine.
    12,300 Gallon, IG PebbleFina, 3 ft sheer, 2 Jandy nicheless LED lights, Jandy Pro 1.5HP VS pump (A.O. Smith Motor), PB4-60 Booster pump, Polaris 280, Jandy cv340 cartridge filter, Zodiac Z4 control panel W/iAquaLink, Stenner pumps for chlorine & MA connected to WiOn WiFi switches, TF-100. You can support TFP with AmazonSmile just click the link!

3. Back To Top    #3