New to The Pool--About FC and CYA

Apr 18, 2017
yorba linda/ca
Hi, I am new to the pools and new to this forum. We recently moved to a house with a outdoor inground pool in Southern California. As we are moving, we haven't paid attention to the pool until 5 days ago I noticed mustard algae on the pool walls. I used the Taylor test kit, and in the FC test the sample didn't change any color, i supposed that there is no FC in the pool. The ph was fine. But, when I did the CYA test the read was way above 100! There was not a number I could read. We are now thinking about the partial drain and refill the pool but after reading the feeds here we are afraid about the potential cost if there will be a destruction. Is there any other way that we can deal with this? The heat will hit us during the coming weekend.

Sean,

Welcome to TFP... A Great resource for all new-to-you pool owners... :snorkle:

Just so that I understand... the dot disappeared almost immediately... This was not a case where you filled the tube and the dot was still visible???

If the dot disappeared right away, then the only real option is to drain water from the pool. How much depends on the actual CYA level.

I suggest you contact your city water department and see what their policy is. It may not be as costly as you think, or it could be not allowed at all.

You need to know the actual facts and not rely on what you see here, as it might not apply to your specific city..

Thanks,

Jim R.

Thank you Jim. Yes, the dot disappeared very quickly. So quick that there was not a number indicating the level. If we get may too much CYA that we can't get a number from the test kit, should we get a professional guy to deal with this? Or is this DIYable? Sorry for many dummy questions!

Sean,

Professional??? We don't need no stinking professional.... :cool:

One thing you can do is a diluted CYA test.