Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southeast Missouri
    Posts
    27

    need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    I am needing to replace Pentair challenger 1 hp single speed- no timer installed originally, last year I manually shut it off half the day to save electric cost. Tthe Pentair pump was using a lot of electricity to run 24/7. I am reading that the dual speed are more energy efficient when running on lower speed. Local person I found that is trustworthy recommended Hayward superflo. He will install it for me, but will not add a timer. I would like to go with a dual speed pump and was wondering if I get the Hayward superflo dual speed that says it has a switch on the unit - does that switch allow me to manually change the speed when I need to. SP2610X152S is the model number of the one I am considering. Does anyone know if I buy this pump- is that all I need or do I still have to find an electrician to add another controller, timer or anything else? ( old pump is wired directly to a circuit breaker- no timer, no controller- just wired to circuit breaker)

    I do not need a timer if this pump has a switch attached to the motor to switch it to low speed manually. I have no heater, no automatic vacuum, no fountains or any extra frills on the pool.
    I would appreciate some help in understanding the installation of this dual speed pump: Hayward SP2610X152S .
    18 x 36 ft inground rectangular pool with vinyl liner, shallow end 3 feet , deep end 8 feet (33000 gallons?)
    Tagelus sand filter, Pentair Superflo VS

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    11

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    If you don't install a timer or an on/off switch of some type near the pump you will have to do it at the breaker. Also, if you don't have a timer, you will have to remember to turn your pump on and off everyday. I prefer to have GFCI and a timer for peace of mind. Personally I have a variable speed pump for the rebates in California. Nice part about a VS is the ability to program everything right on the pump.

    Oh, btw, I think you are meaning the Hayward Super Pump (Switch is on the back). "Superflo" is Pentair and it is a 1.5hp VS.
    Last edited by Avalanche; 04-17-2017 at 11:49 PM. Reason: spelling

  3. Back To Top    #3
    CJadamec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Quaker Hill, CT
    Posts
    2,192

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    For the prices I saw for the model you listed ~550 you could get the Superflo VS pump which will install very easy and has it's own built in timer and speed control. The VS pump will be ever so slightly cheaper to operate at slow speeds but with the built in timer that could save you a ton of money from not having to remember to turn the pump on and off. Not that the dual speed is bad pump when you can get the a VS pump for 600 a dual speed for 550 doesn't seem worth it.
    Chuck-
    15x30 AG, Pentair Superflo VS, 19" sand filter, TF-100 test kit
    Aqua Comfort ACT750 heat pump / 6x20 ground mount solar panel / DIY automation

    Photos of 2016 Build, Inside Your Breaker Panel, Free Copy of 2017 NEC code
    TFP is AD Free and is funded solely by member support click here to help

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southeast Missouri
    Posts
    27

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    thanks for the response, I meant the Hayward super pump dual speed (not superflo) that says it has a switch on the motor. I do not need a timer to turn the motor off and on- I can do that manually and I can manually switch the speed when I need to- that is not a problem- the question is -is it required to have an anything additional wired by an electrician to run the Hayward super pump dual speed or is it as simple as switching the motors out? The variable speed is nice-but the price is also an issue for me, which is why I was considering the dual speed.
    18 x 36 ft inground rectangular pool with vinyl liner, shallow end 3 feet , deep end 8 feet (33000 gallons?)
    Tagelus sand filter, Pentair Superflo VS

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    11

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    On the last post you said "switching the motors out"...I hope you mean the whole pump. As far as the wiring, for warranty and safety, they want a licensed electrician to do it. If it is wired correctly, it will work. If your old one is wired 115 then the Hayward Super Pump 1.5 can be wired 115 as well. Same for if it is 230.


    See Pg 6
    https://www.hayward-pool.com/pdf/man...ISSPSERIES.pdf
    18k plaster Lagoon shape, Hayward EcoStar VS pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Southeast Missouri
    Posts
    27

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    Yes, thanks, I have read through this manual. I understand this, the person who will install pump ( yes the entire pump motor filter basket will be replaced) used to install pools for a living and now only does some things on the side and is capable of wiring the pump- and I trust him to do it correctly. He will not install an additional controller or timer if this pump needs anything additional to be wired into the circuit in order to switch form low to high speed.
    18 x 36 ft inground rectangular pool with vinyl liner, shallow end 3 feet , deep end 8 feet (33000 gallons?)
    Tagelus sand filter, Pentair Superflo VS

  7. Back To Top    #7
    ckk81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kalamazoo MI
    Posts
    235

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    I know you want to turn it on and off yourself, but installing a simple timer now will leave you flexible for the future. (You can pretend it doesn't exist and the Intermatics aren't expensive.)

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    11

    Re: need new pump- would like to get a dual speed

    Quote Originally Posted by ckk81 View Post
    I know you want to turn it on and off yourself, but installing a simple timer now will leave you flexible for the future. (You can pretend it doesn't exist and the Intermatics aren't expensive.)
    You can find them for $50-$60
    18k plaster Lagoon shape, Hayward EcoStar VS pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •