Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Using Borates?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    378

    Using Borates?

    Results from poollogger.com

    FC: 8
    CC: 0
    PH: 7.5
    TA: 60
    CH: 425
    CYA: 70 (not tested, previous value)
    Temp: 74
    Salt: 3600
    CSI: -0.46

    Looking good!

    Turned SWG on @ 25% this morning after being off since last Tuesday while I brough the FC down from 14ppm.

    I just got my pool basically balanced the way I want it to be or close to the way I want it to be. I saw in another thread about using Borates. I would need some 38 pounds of boric acid to get to 50ppm, maybe a little less as I think I've slightly over-estimated my pool volume. I'm not doing this right away as I just got to the numbers above today after a week of adjusting the CyA mostly, then the pH and TA but am considering doing it. The TA and pH held since Saturday afternoon which is a good thing and I'll be monitoring it going forward. I just wanted this in my back pocket if I start seeing swings. What do all you experts think?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    24,974

    Re: Using Borates?

    I am a fan of using borates and it helps hold pH steady. I've been using them for years.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    378

    Re: Using Borates?

    Thanks pooldv.. I'll monitor this week and maybe next. If pH keeps raising I'll procure 50 lbs from Duad Diesel. I have an inkling pH wiil keep rising. When I took over the pool maintenance from my pool guy it was pretty high and he told me he added acid every week.


  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Rockville, MD
    Posts
    78

    Re: Using Borates?

    I just added borates to my pool yesterday. Bought 2x 55lb containers of boric acid. The water does shimmer. We'll see how it changes the ease of maintenance.
    Pool: 40x15ft "Mt. Lake" shaped plaster IG (30k gallons with Borates)
    SWG: Circupool Si-45
    Pumps: Hayward MaxFlo VS (SP2302VSP) + Booster Pump for Polaris 180
    Robot: Kreepy Krauly 830 || Filter: Pentair Tagelus TA-60D (Sand)
    Test Kit: TF-100 (with Speed Stir)

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Bigdog43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    172

    Re: Using Borates?

    The only thing holding me back was that I read in Borates thread on here that there was potentially an increased risks to dogs. I've been trying to teach them to drink out of a water bowl I always leave out but it still happens where they'll take a sip from the pool. Not to mention we sometimes leave them outside while we're gone.


    Memphis, TN.
    Pool IG, 20K gallon, Gunite. Triton Sand filter, Pentair Pump, Polaris 280, Doheny Discovery Dolphin, Chlorinating Liquid, Rock Water Feature, New Plaster 2015
    Spa 450 gal, Tropic Seas Waikiki 864L, Bromine
    Taylor K-2006

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Lake Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    73

    Re: Using Borates?

    Following for more information pertaining to dogs, seeing that I have two that drink from pool regularly.

    Thankyou,

    Bryan
    33,000 Gallon In Ground Gunite/Plaster
    1.5 HP Pentair Wisperflow 2 speed pump and Pentair 60 DE filter
    3/4 HP Pentair Booster pump and Polaris 280 cleaner
    Cirrcupool SJ55 SWG. TF100 test kit

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Bigdog43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    172

    Re: Using Borates?

    I was hoping some other folks would chime in but I think it's because there isn't a whole lot of info out there on the topic. I've done some googling and can't find much definitive either way. I think the general consensus is that it is toxic to dogs at high levels, but at what levels is it OK? And what level would you be willing to take that risk? I know I'd be sleeping out by the pool if the wife found out I put something in the pool that hurt the dogs.

    That being said, in general I don't think a dog should use a pool as it's main source of water. If it does, I could potentially see this causing problems in some dogs. If your dog takes the occasional sip, it's probably fine but I don't think I'm going to risk it.
    Memphis, TN.
    Pool IG, 20K gallon, Gunite. Triton Sand filter, Pentair Pump, Polaris 280, Doheny Discovery Dolphin, Chlorinating Liquid, Rock Water Feature, New Plaster 2015
    Spa 450 gal, Tropic Seas Waikiki 864L, Bromine
    Taylor K-2006

  8. Back To Top    #8

    tschaefges's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sidney, IL
    Posts
    38

    Re: Using Borates?

    If your dogs are retrieving from the pool or swimming around with a toy in their mouth, they may swallow a lot of water without appearing to drink because their mouth will be open and at water level. None of our dogs lap water from the pool like they would from a bowl, but they still take on quite a lot while swimming. I don't think it's worth the risk.
    17' x 29.5' x 4' Splash Superpool AGP, 15,000 gal, Hayward S244T sand filter, Sta-Rite ABG4E-2A4BBB 1hp pump, BBB / TF100 test kit
    East-Central Illinois

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    24,974

    Re: Using Borates?

    Here, Borates - Why and How, it says this:

    In all cases, you should train your pets to not drink from the pool. There are various chemicals in the pool that pose some risk to pets. Dogs that get all of their drinking water from the swimming pool should still not show any symptoms from borates. However, they would be close to the threshold for showing symptoms, rather than 1/100th the level for showing symptoms, as would be required for human safety.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •