Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Pentair Screenlogic

  1. Back To Top    #1
    lardo5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Little Elm Texas
    Posts
    111

    Pentair Screenlogic

    So, we are going to be going with SWG.
    Did a search, some information was older though, as I see they now have Screenlogic2.
    We are going with Pentair, and I am trying to get it setup so I can use my phone for everything.

    Whats everyone's opinion on this? Does it work well? I have not gotten to into it yet, but it gives you the current readings of the pool as well? Is it accurate?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,261

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Lardo,

    I have ScreenLogic and you'd have to drag it out of my cold dead hands...

    I love it!! That said, I use it mainly via my PC..

    The phone app is more for viewing and controlling and not so much for programing.









    Less than $400 at SunPlay..

    Makes using the EasyTouch about 10 X easier. So that would be Easy-EasyTouch...

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    GDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    308

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Agree completely - If you've got Pentair - then Screenlogic2 is the way to go. The ScreenLogic smart phone app gives you complete control on the operation of the pool, heater, lights, etc. There is an "SL Config" app that gives you all of the setup functions from your smart device, but I think this is laid out better on the PC/MAC so I do my "setup" from there and then operate from the smart devices.

    As far as it's functions - the temperature readings, etc are dialed in and are very accurate - These are all part of the Easytouch8 panel (that's the version I have) there is also an ET4 and Intellitouch panel - they each have different options -so you'll want to make sure the panel you have has the proper sensors and amount of control. The app also has connectivity to pull in 5 to 7 days worth of future weather/temps from the internet.

    I bought a refurbed ipad Mini and put a waterproof case on it. That is my outside control device. I've got music and other house automation I can control from the mini along with the pool operations.
    Greg -
    11K gal, IG Pebble Sheen (Aqua Blue) with sun ledge and attached spa, Pentair Intelliflow 3050 VS/SVRS (3HP), Pentair ET 8 with Screen Logic, Pentair Racer with 3/4 HP booster pump, 400KBTU Pentair Mastertemp, Pentair 60 sq ft DE filter, J&J Intellibrite LED in spa, Zodiac Nature 2 (not used), Stenner pump/liquid Chlorine, build completed in August 2015

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    sacramento CA
    Posts
    147

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    It's awesome. iPhone app is better than android. I can control everything from anywhere at anytime.



  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    3,876

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    ..

    Makes using the EasyTouch about 10 X easier. So that would be Easy-EasyTouch...

    Jim R.
    Jim, I'm going to have to punish you for not naming your features
    -Brian-

    Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,261

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Quote Originally Posted by bdavis466 View Post
    Jim, I'm going to have to punish you for not naming your features
    Brian,

    I guess my punishment should be removal from the "ScreenLogic Committee for Extermination of Pentair Remotes"...

    Lardo... Just to bring you up to speed.. in my posts above you can see where my pump speeds are different for Pool at 1200, Feature 1 at 1400, Feature 2 at 1800, and Waterfall at 2700. Brian is giving me a hard time about the two speeds that are labeled Feature 1 and 2. "Feature" is a default name and normally would be re-named to reflect what the feature does, like "Speed 2" or "Skimmer" or whatever you want... Since I had these set up before I got ScreenLogic, I have just been too lazy to do it and deserve to be punished...

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    GDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    308

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    I'll add that the only real limitation I've come across with the Pentair automation is the small number of programs you can create. With the ET8 you can only create 12 timers - that is a total of timers and egg timers - total of 12. I can make that work by just having fewer egg timers, but I would like to put a few more in.

    In addition to your "Is it accurate" question, if you find or believe your temp sensors are off a degree or two, you can tweak them in the config section of SL.
    Greg -
    11K gal, IG Pebble Sheen (Aqua Blue) with sun ledge and attached spa, Pentair Intelliflow 3050 VS/SVRS (3HP), Pentair ET 8 with Screen Logic, Pentair Racer with 3/4 HP booster pump, 400KBTU Pentair Mastertemp, Pentair 60 sq ft DE filter, J&J Intellibrite LED in spa, Zodiac Nature 2 (not used), Stenner pump/liquid Chlorine, build completed in August 2015

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    16

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    In the screenshots above how do you get to the setup circuits screen?

  9. Back To Top    #9

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    3,876

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Quote Originally Posted by Justdrew424 View Post
    In the screenshots above how do you get to the setup circuits screen?
    Click the icon> The login screen pops up, in the lower corner select the box that says Configure Screenlogic. This will open up a new window where all of the programming is done.
    -Brian-

    Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Las Vegas,NV
    Posts
    16

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Thank you. Didn't realize it was 2 different ways to go into application.
    12K Gallon Quartz IG Pool & Spa, Waterfall with 1.5 HP Whisperflo , Easytouch 4, SWG IC40, 3HP IntelliFlo VS, Screenlogic 2, MasterTemp 400K, TF-100

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    sacramento CA
    Posts
    147

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    You can do it on you iPhone if you have one. Download SLConfig.



  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Lillington, NC
    Posts
    1

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    I have a question. I have the app on my phone and so far it has been great. The installer set the app up for me about a year ago and it was showing 3 entries for the pump: Pool-everyday-from like 8am to 8am, pool low-5pm to 8am, then pool high from 8am to 5pm. I want the pump to run all the time, with some of if on low and some on high. I have noticed lately that for instance, I will get up in the morning and the pump is off. I can check it from work sometimes and the pump is off. Can you recommend entries to keep the pump on, with variable speeds? Hope my question makes sense.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    3,876

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    If that's how the pump is scheduled to run it should be on 24/7 so you have something else going on.

    Do you have an egg timer set up for the pool circuit?
    -Brian-

    Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    sacramento CA
    Posts
    147

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    I think something is conflicting with the way you have the time set up for each event. The events overlap maybe Try it like this. Poolhigh 8-4. Poolmedium 4-7. Poollow 7-4. I had something like that going on and this seemed to work



  15. Back To Top    #15

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    San Clemente, CA
    Posts
    3,876

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    There is nothing wrong with overlapping schedules, in fact it has to be done when one wants to have the SWG run during multiple feature circuits.

    Can you post up your​ schedule screen?
    -Brian-

    Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    sacramento CA
    Posts
    147

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Why would you want to run the swg with a waterfall feature on? I'd like to see the schedule too.



  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,261

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Quote Originally Posted by The dog View Post
    Why would you want to run the swg with a waterfall feature on? I'd like to see the schedule too.
    Dog,

    Really just depends on what the user wants. Unless you have a separate pump for your waterfall, the SWCG will produce chlorine anytime the system is in the Pool or Spa mode.

    Some people (like me) like to run the SWCG at a low % for a longer time. Some people like to run the SWCG at a higher % for a short period of time.

    So if the waterfall will be on when you are normally trying to chlorinate your pool, it makes no difference to the SWCG.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    sacramento CA
    Posts
    147

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Yeah I get all that JR.
    That's why Pentair tells you to wire the swg to the main pump/spa relay... So it turns on at the same time as the pump.

    The only way I can have the pump run without the swg operating is to create a feature and schedule the feature for a specific time range.
    For instance, I have a cleaning mode (high rpm) that runs 1-1/2 hours before and after my normal pump schedule (which runs for 12 hours), I have 3 schedules to get this to work. In cleaning mode the swg does not operate.

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    345

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    I purchased the ScreenLogic2 and ET8 system. I also have a VSP, SWG, deck jets, waterslide and waterfall. I'm am sooooo looking forward controlling things from my phone. I'll use PC to program but Android to control.

    Actually, I ordered a 2nd Amazon Echo Dot that I can put outside to control things. Yes, the ScreenLogic is Amazon enabled!

    "Alexa, turn on waterfall" will soon be a reality for me!!!! Talk about a wow-factor for guests
    18'x36' vinyl - 24k gal - Intelliflo 3hp VSP - Pentair C&C 420 cartridge filter - IC40 Salt - EasyTouch 8 - ScreenLogic - Raypak 406btu NG heater - Intellibrite 5G ligths - 4 deck jets - sheer descent - X-Stream Slide 2 - TF100 kit - opened spring 2017

  20. Back To Top    #20
    GDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    308

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic

    Quote Originally Posted by Veccster View Post
    I purchased the ScreenLogic2 and ET8 system. I also have a VSP, SWG, deck jets, waterslide and waterfall. I'm am sooooo looking forward controlling things from my phone. I'll use PC to program but Android to control.

    Actually, I ordered a 2nd Amazon Echo Dot that I can put outside to control things. Yes, the ScreenLogic is Amazon enabled!

    "Alexa, turn on waterfall" will soon be a reality for me!!!! Talk about a wow-factor for guests
    This is really picky - but you will want to know - you are so close to "Alexa, turn on waterfall" but Pentair isn't fully integrated into the home portion - so you will have to ask "Alexa, ASK PENTAIR, to turn on waterfall" "Alexa, Ask Pentair what the pool temperature is?", etc.
    Greg -
    11K gal, IG Pebble Sheen (Aqua Blue) with sun ledge and attached spa, Pentair Intelliflow 3050 VS/SVRS (3HP), Pentair ET 8 with Screen Logic, Pentair Racer with 3/4 HP booster pump, 400KBTU Pentair Mastertemp, Pentair 60 sq ft DE filter, J&J Intellibrite LED in spa, Zodiac Nature 2 (not used), Stenner pump/liquid Chlorine, build completed in August 2015

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •