Big differences

Jul 27, 2016
Wesley Chapel
Hi all,

I bought a Taylor 2006 kit and have been doing my own water testing now for about 10 months. My salt cell died so I brought it in to get tested. WHile I was there I had the water tested as well and I had just tested it before I left the house. There are large differences between my results and Pinch a Penny, but I don't understand how that could be. IS it possible my checmicals are bad? The differences aren't in their favor - if anything, they have much higher readings than I have:

FC- I have a reading of 2 - they have 5
PH - I have 7.4 and they have 7.4 (This is the only thing that was the same)
Alkalinity - I have 50 they have 90
Calcium - I have 330 they have 425
Stabilizer - I am not good with this test so it isn't fair to compare :)

They said I needed a bottle of stain control but I didn't buy any. Not sure if I really need that or not.

What would account for such large differences? I should note, my alkalinity test always comes back at 50 or 60 when I do it, even when I PH is high. I am following the instructions in the kit - it isn't that hard to count drops...not sure why there are such differences???

Thanks,

Greg