Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Can't get my FC level up.

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Can't get my FC level up.

    We have had our AG pool filled now for close to a week and I can't get my FC level to go up. Everything else looks good except maybe my pH is a little high. I did the pool calculator yesterday and started with an FC level of .5. It told me to add 87 oz of 6% bleach so I did. I checked it a couple of hours later and it hadn't moved so I put about another 80oz in. I just checked this afternoon and my FC level is still at about .5. Why won't it go up? I did notice that the water is clearer today than it was yesterday.

    TH - 250
    TC - .5
    FC - .5
    pH - 7.8
    TA - 120
    CA - 30-50
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    You need to shock the pool, see these instructions at Pool School.

    Also, could you tell us what you are using for water testing, pool store, or the brand/model of test kit?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Still can't get my FC level to stay up even after shocking

    Merged threads for history. Butterfly

    Hello

    We have had our new AG pool installed now for about a week and I can't seem to get my FC level to stay up. Someone suggested I shock the pool so I used 4 - 1.5 gallon bottles of bleach in about 1 hour intervals. The level went way up during the shock but now it is back down to .5 again. What am I doing wrong? I have a SWG system on order but it won't be here until early July. I need to do something else in the meantime.

    I know I don't have the proper testing kit yet (I am getting one) but the strips should still tell me the difference between an FC level of .5 and 4 right?

    TH - 100
    TC - .5
    FC - .5
    pH - 7.6
    TA - 180
    CA - 30-50
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    151

    Re: Still can't get my FC level to stay up even after shocking

    You really need to get some full test results ASAP.

    The main one I dont see listed is your CYA. If there is no CYA in your pool, its no wonder your FC is disappearing.

    Also, your goal is to have your TC be zero (or very close).

    Until you get the CYA in your pool, your pool will be a "black hole for chlorine" if you will

    You might also read the Pool School (link in upper right) if you havent already. It has a lot of information that explains what is going on with your pool and how to get started.

    Welcome to the board!
    18' Round ABG (8000 gallon)
    Hayward X-Stream Cartridge Filter
    1.5hp Hayward PowerFlo Matrix Pump
    80 sq. ft. solar panels
    Goldline automated solar controller

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    1,966

    Re: Still can't get my FC level to stay up even after shocking

    CA is probably CYA, and 30-50 is okay.
    The goal is not to have TC zero, the goal is to have CC (= TC - FC) at .5 or less.

    The thing is, shocking the pool is not a one-time event, it's a process; you maintain your FC at a high level until the problem is taken care of.

    The strips should be able to distinguish FC 4 from .5; but you need to keep adding chlorine until your FC doesn't drop overnight. This will be a lot easier when you get your kit.
    --paulr
    BBB "Intermediate Swimmer"
    IG plaster pool 18.5K gal, Hayward Pro-Grid DE filter, 3/4 HP Hydramax II; Polaris 380, 3/4 HP booster
    AG spa 325 gal, probably Sundance of some kind
    Water testing instructions on one page

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    You appear to have enough CYA to protect your FC from sunlight, so that leaves organics that are using up your FC.
    In other words, you have something in the water that is eating up your FC.

    As Paul explained, shocking your pool is NOT a one-time event, but a process of continuing to add chlorine and trying to maintain shock level until your pool is 'cured'.

    After you read How to Shock Your Pool in Pool School, if you have questions, please post back in this thread.

    We want to help you get your pool balanced.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    c/p from PM: Butterfly

    Quote Originally Posted by csorton
    Ok this is getting a bit frustrating. Over the past couple of days I tried to shock my pool yet again. I had to use 11 1lb bags of shock and this morning I thought I had it. All of my levels were ok. When I get home today the water is very cloudy so I checked the levels again and everything is out of whack. I have no chlorine again and my TA is way high. I'm starting to wish I didn't get a pool.

    TH - 100
    TC - 0
    FC - .5
    pH - 7.6
    TA - 240
    CYA- 0

    I have no idea what to do now.

    Please help me.

    _________________
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    What are you using for testing?

    Unless you drained your pool, your CYA cannot drop from 30-50 to zero. We really need a reliable test result. Are you using strips?

    Don't worry about your TA for now. If it is a problem after your pool is cleared, we can help you fix that.

    Please read back thru the previous posts.

    Also, we recommend that you shock using bleach or liquid chlorine.
    Powder shocks contain things that your pool may or may not need and can cause even more problems.

    I recommend that you get the TF100 Test kit from http://www.TFTestKits.net. It will put you in charge of your pool.

    Until you get your kit, could you take a sample to a pool store for testing?

    When you are ready to respond to this thread, scroll to the bottom of the page and use the Post Reply button, bottom left corner.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9
    ultra800_96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pomeroy, Iowa
    Posts
    225

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    A few years back I had tried using some left over prior year test strips. I could never get much of a chlorine reading, so i just kept adding chlorine. Everything else seemed pretty accurate. Finally bought a cheap drop test kit, & it read off the chart (5+). The test strips went into the trash that day. Maybe that could be your problem....
    12,900 Gal. 24' X 48" ABG Vinyl Round (17th Birthday)
    1HP Hayward Pump w/S180T Hayward Sand Filter
    AquaTrol RJ SWCG 2011 startup
    TFP Method since '09, TF100
    50ppm Borates, June '12

  10. Back To Top    #10
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    Test strips should go in the trash whether they are old or not.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    Ok I finally got a proper test kit. Some of th results were similar to the strips except for the TA. I definately don't have any chlorine still and it looks like I don't have any CYA. Is that why my chlorine won't keep?

    I'm hoping I did the CYA correctly. I did 7ml of water and 7 ml of CYA reagent and poured it in the test tube. The solution was clear all the way to the top and the black dot on the bottom was always visible.

    FC 0
    TC 0
    CC 0
    pH 7.8
    TA 130
    CH 120
    CYA 0
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

  12. Back To Top    #12
    reebok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    that would explain why you can't hold chlorine. get some cya in there and keep adding bleach. you really need to shock once you get some cya in there to hold it.
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    CYA is also called stabilizer, and you can get it at Walmart or Lowes type stores that have pool departments....or the Pool store.

    You put some in a sock, perhaps 2 lbs at a time (Use the pool calc to determine how much you need total), and tie the sock in front of your return flow. Leave the pump running while the CYA dissolves - then don't retest the CYA for 5-7 days or you're just wasting reagent. 24 hours after it has dissolved, consider it there and then refer to the CYA/Chlorine chart for your new FC levels/shock level.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    I put 8 lbs of CYA powder from Leslies in my skimmer in at 3 different times. I mixed it up in a bucket of warm water as it said on the bucket before I put it in the skimmer. It seemed to bog down the pump a little but it all went through ok. It hasn't quite dissolved yet but the water started to clear up almost instantly. I put 8 lbs in it because I want to get it high enough to be ready for my SWG that I should be getting next week. I haven't gotten any bleach yet. I am going to get some tonight so I can try to shock it again.

    Once the FC is ok how often do I need to add bleach before I get my SWG?
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

  15. Back To Top    #15
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    Every nite. YOu need to add bleach each nite to keep the FC at the recommended levels for your CYA. Refer to the Non-swg chart for the recommended chlorine level. Once your SWG is operational, you use the SWG section of the chart.

    So test the FC each nite, and add enough bleach to keep your FC in the recommended range for the CYA level - never below the minimum.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    So when I have my SWG installed do I still need to check it every night? How do I adjust the FC level with and SWG? Do I just run it longer?

    Thanks for all your help by the way.
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

  17. Back To Top    #17
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    From what I understand of the Intex unit, you just run it longer to raise the FC output. For your size pool, I don't think it will take more than a few hours at the most to keep it in range.

    You don't HAVE to test every nite. I would recommend it at first, just till you "get to know" the pool's habits with the new system. It may take a few weeks to figure out the proper run time of the SWG, the pump, etc.

    2 years into BBB, I have gotten to "know" my pool and I don't test nightly, even with bleach.

    Some users report testing nitely with the OTO to ensure the presence of chlorine and then weekly with the FAS-DPD.

    You'll figure out a routine that works for you.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    I just realized the kit that I purchased only tests FC up to 5ppm. Is there another viewer I can get? I don't have to buy another test kit right?
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

  19. Back To Top    #19
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    You can get an FAS-DPD test to supplement your kit. It tests up to 50ppm and isn't a 'color comparison' test but a drop-count test, similar to the TA test.

    TFtestkits.net and TAylor both sell the individual test for around $25. It's essential, IMHO.

    The links to both sites are in the "test kits compared" article in Pool School.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    19

    Re: Can't get my FC level up.

    The kids have been wanting to go swimming. I found somewhere that said that I could dilute my test sample and multiply so I took 1/4 cup pool water and 1/2 cup purified water and tested it. It showed about 4 ppm which means the pool should be around 12 or so right? This is safe to swim in isn't it?

    It definatley looks like the shock and CYA worked because the pool looks great!
    Our pool is 12,481 gallons
    The pump has a cartrige type filter
    It's an AG pool
    Pump is an Intex 633 2500 gph

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •