Schedule vs. liquid chlorine feasibility Hello

Apr 12, 2017
Phoenix, AZ
Hello all,

New to to the forums but have been lurking for a bit and think I have my bearings now. I just had a question on the feasibility of sanitizing with bleach with a schedule where I will be out of town 2-3 days a week (I'm a pilot a obviously travel frequently for work). I just fired the pol guy after noticing algae and some kind of seaweed growing from my skimmer. Bought a test a realized the CYA was way too high for chlorine to really do anything. Drained the pool and am starting from scratch. I'm on the road right now and will post my new test numbers when I get home but so far I added two gallons of stabilizer (CYA was still less than 20 when I left) and of course bought those stupid tablets and chlorbrite (dichlor) from Leslie's which I didn't realize all contained more CYA (this was before I discover TFP).

Anyways, once these chemicals are used up (they all cost $200 so I'm not going to waste them), I'd like to switch to just using bleach for sanitizing. With a schedule where I may not be able to test the water and add bleach for 2-4 days at a time, is this feasible? I've been reading you have to stay on top of FC quite a bit more when using liquid chlorine. Could I just spike the levels right before I left on a trip so they were back down to 3-5 ppm by the time I returned? Or could I just float a puck or two during this time without raising the CYA significantly over the long-haul?

thanks in advance