Weird pool plumbing?

Apr 4, 2017
Lodi, CA
Hi everyone, first post. Nice to meet you!

I've got a kidney shaped approximately 25k gal in ground pool, possibly built in the 60's. I've been fighting my aging pump and filter for a few years now and I'm finally replacing it. I've never been able to figure out exactly how my plumbing is set up...

I've got a drain in the deep end, a skimmer, and a suction port on the wall. As far as I can tell, most of the suction is coming from the skimmer, and that's where I've ran a suction vacuum in the past. The port on the wall's auction seems weak. Going into my pump is only one single pipe, I would expect more coming from the different suction ports, no?

Then on the return side I have an outlet pipe from the filter to a 3 way valve going to two return lines that I always thought had one to sewer and one to the pool, but I took the valve apart today while I have the pool drained and stuck a hose in each side. Both sides spit water out of the same return jets in the pool wall. Why would there be two pipes going to the same place and why would there be a 3 way valve on them?

There's also a wrist deep hole near my pool with a valve in it that I can't figure out the purpose of. Could this have something to do with the drain and skimmer lines?

What I'd like to know: what's up with two return lines going to the same jets? And why is my drain, skimmer, and wall suction all connected to one inlet pipe to my pump?

Just wondering if this makes sense to anyone. If it's an "I'd have to be there to look at it" kind of thing I completely understand. This probably sounds like a mess. Thanks in advance!