Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pool adventurers from Ouachita Mountains in Arkansas

1. Back To Top    #1

Pool adventurers from Ouachita Mountains in Arkansas

Hello fellow pool adventurers.

This is our 4th Intex above ground pool in 8 years. They don't wear out, we just keep upsizing. This 26' x 52" is the biggest we will be going and may go to a more permanent structure after this one wears out. I discovered Trouble free pools 2 years ago and can honestly say it has saved us a ton of money and headache. I am a high school science teacher in a small rural school and can tell you I have used what I have learned here to teach some great real world application lessons in my biology and chemistry classes.

We got a great winter month deal through the local box store on the 26' pool. However, I'm a little worried about getting the boxes unpacked and inspected before the chance to return runs out in case there are any damaged parts (the boxes were pretty banged up). My principal has a sand filter and pump she is passing on to me, but I'm so used to using cartridge filters, I'm not sure if the conversion is a major ordeal or if we should go salt water generator. Suggestions welcome.

Blue Skies and Sunny pool days ahead,
    biomcgee
    Mena, Arkansas
    AG Intex Ultra Frame 26' x 52" (still in the box) 14,400 gallons, 120 V Cartridge Filter, Taylor K-1004 test kit. (About to take down 3 year old Intex 15' )

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pool adventurers from Ouachita Mountains in Arkansas

Hey ya Mena

Your cartridge filter is a filter just like a sand filter is a filter. The Salt Water Generator is a sanitizer. Different beast and job entirely.