Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Does pool pump need to be running for heater to work?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    86

    Does pool pump need to be running for heater to work?

    We are turning on the heater for the first time. It seems to make sense for the pool pump to be on for the warm water to return, but we didn't get specific instructions on this so just double checking! Thanks!
    First time pool owner
    21K IG; quartz plaster finish
    Pentair 1HP Whisperflo pump; Pentair Clean and Clear Plus cartridge filter; Pentair Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Polaris 280; Completed Feb. 2017

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    184

    Re: Does pool pump need to be running for heater to work?

    If hooked up correctly, the heater will need to detect water flow in order for it to turn on. So to answer your question, yes the pump will need to be running.
    Doughboy 12' x 20' Saphire semi-AG, Installed 2012
    Waterway 1.5 HP 2 speed, 100 sqft cartridge filter
    Aprox 7000 Gal, Full sun, 85K heat pump,
    TF-100 test kit

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,241

    Re: Does pool pump need to be running for heater to work?

    JYH,

    Yes, the pump has to be running. The heater has an internal pressure switch that needs to be closed...

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    24,974

    Re: Does pool pump need to be running for heater to work?

    Yes, heaters have a pressure switch to check for water flow as a safety feature. Heaters cannot heat without water flow or they will overheat and break stuff.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    86

    Re: Does pool pump need to be running for heater to work?

    Ok got it - thank you all for the quick replies!


    First time pool owner
    21K IG; quartz plaster finish
    Pentair 1HP Whisperflo pump; Pentair Clean and Clear Plus cartridge filter; Pentair Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Polaris 280; Completed Feb. 2017

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •