What's better: salt water or chlorine pool?

I'm just beginning the consultation process--getting quotes from various pool companies, deciding design details, etc. I want a rectangular pool without too many bells and whistles, so the biggest decision that I have to make is whether to get a chlorine pool or a salt water pool.

I have already done a significant amount of research on the internet about the pros and cons of each system. I'm aware that a salt water pool is still technically a chlorinated pool, just with a different way of producing the chlorine.

What I'm really asking for are personal experiences from current and former pool owners. Did you own a salt water or a chlorine pool? What was easy or convenient about it? What was expensive or difficult to maintain? Is it possible to have a chlorine pool without too strong of a smell, or one that isn't harsh on your skin, hair, and eyes? Any personal input would be appreciated.

Welcome to TFP!

There will be a lot of members with Salt Pools wanting to answer, so I'll take the last one briefly and tell you absolutely, positively... you can. You can do it with ease, and we can show you how, with either type of pool.

Enjoy your time on the forum. :wave:

First off, let me say- A Salt Water Pool *is* a chlorine pool. The Salt Water Chlorine Generator (SWG) device takes salt from the pool water and runs it through the device cell where it is split up to make chlorine. Then the chlorine and the residual water again mix back up in the pool to be used again and again. Its a cool device, been around for about 30-40 years now.

Using a SWG to make the chlorine costs about the same over the lifespan of the device as if you had bought all the chlorine and lugged it home one jug at a time. So it might just be a factor of can you swing paying it all upfront or do you want to pay for/lug your chlorine home for the next few years slowly?