Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: EasyTouch electrical install

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    41

    EasyTouch electrical install

    I have read threads here and plodded through the Pentair manual, all of which confuses me more. I won't be doing the install work myself, but trying to figure out who should.

    We are remodeling the pool. Currently have Intelliflo VS and Polaris pumps controlled by Intermatic timers. No heater, spa, etc.

    I bought an EasyTouch 4 with IC40 and 2 actuators. We will also control 120V pool light and landscape lights. The pool remodeler will program the ET4, but recommended an electrician to put up the control center and hook stuff in. He described the electrical as being simple (not my takeaway from reading threads here), but the electrician estimate is $700. My other option is to use the electrician we are using for landscape work, but he does not have experience with pool automation boxes. Is any electrician likely to quickly understand what needs to be done?

    We have a sub-panel at the pad, but only black, red, white wires from the main panel. 40A 220V.

    Bill.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Moberly,MO
    Posts
    1,025

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Any electrician ought to be able to. That being said the very first system I had an electrician install he fried all the computer boards in it because he was college educated and would not look at the wiring diagram that was on a label on the lid of the box. After that I do them myself.
    Over 30 years in the pool business
    We build vinyl, fiberglass, stainless steel pools
    Certified in Hydraulics

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Bill,

    Connecting the existing electrical power to the Load Center part of the EasyTouch should be easy for any real electrician. The harder part (not all that hard) will be to understand how the EasyTouch works and how to wire power to and from the control transformers and internal relays.

    If you have installed one of these panels before it would take half a day or less. It took me about a day and a half to install my first one, not because it was hard to do, but because it took time to translate the Pentair language manual into something a human could understand.

    Some of the things you might not have thought about is the electrician will need to wire your Intelliflo so that it has constant power from the EasyTouch. He will also have to run a serial cable from the Intelliflo and connect this cable to one of the comm ports inside the EasyTouch. (This cable comes with the Intelliflo)

    Not sure where your on/off switch is for your pool light, but the electrician will need to re-route the wiring to pass through one of the control relays inside the EasyTouch.

    Power for the SWCG transformer must be routed through the Pump/Filter relay, your landscape guy most likely does not know this.

    Thanks for posting,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,764

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Check with where you purchased that E/T4 from. You mentioned that you have two actuators and no spa. It sounds like you got the E/T4 designed for a pool and spa. If you wanted to save a little money, you would want the PL4 (single body of water) P/N 522352, or 353 which would include screen logic. The addition of screen logic will probably cost more, and without a spa, you may not get that much convenience from it. Other than controlling the lights from where ever you had your smartphone.

    Even if you were going to add solar, you would only need one actuator.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    41

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Pool Clown, I looked up your part numbers. Turns out I bought 520593 because I needed the IC40 salt cell. I have no spa, and bought the actuators separately to use with water features. I want to get ScreenLogic, but did not want to spend the $ right now. Looking at prices for your model numbers, the ScreenLogic would be about half the price I am seeing for standalone buy. Maybe there was a better model number for me to buy.

    It looks like your model number do not have the breaker panel that mine includes. That breaker panel in mine is one thing that confuses me. Seems I could use breakers either in my sub-panel or in the ET4 for powering the Intelliflo, not sure about the Polaris pump.

    Bill.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,764

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Sorry, the 4 threw me off. I don't use many of the E/T 4's usually the 8's. I thought you had the PL4, the entry level E/T (grey faceplate).

    You would have wanted the either the 520591 (single body, no actuators, no iC) or the 593 (yours). Doesn't look like the S/L is bundled with any of the non-PL series E/T's, OR The IntelliTouch line. That don't make sense. Looks like the PL4/PSL4 is the only line that bundles the S/L with it.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Bill,

    In my opinion, if you want to do this right, then the EasyTouch would replace the breaker panel at the pad end. All the breakers would be inside the ET for all your pool equipment.

    Doing this makes wiring so much simpler..

    ScreenLogic P/N 522104 is less than $400 at Sunplay.. It makes programming and using the ET ten times easier.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,764

    Re: EasyTouch electrical install

    Quote Originally Posted by bparker View Post
    It looks like your model number do not have the breaker panel that mine includes. That breaker panel in mine is one thing that confuses me. Seems I could use breakers either in my sub-panel or in the ET4 for powering the Intelliflo, not sure about the Polaris pump.
    As long as the sub-panel is located there at the equipment, and not back at the house. The PL may have been a better choice. Is your E/T still boxed up? Maybe you can return it, if it hasn't been too long since you got it.


    Edit: Jim is right, but that will definitely incur more cost from your electrician to move all that over to the E/T box. If the 700.00 was to remove the old sub-panel, then do it.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •