Moved into home and neglected pool... help?

Mar 8, 2017
Georgia
Hello folks,

I recently moved into a new house and this is my first time owning a pool. After we moved in it seemed like we were going from crisis to crisis and the pool was neglected for about 3 months. This site has been a great resource for learning about pool care, and I think I have a good understand of what I need to do to clean and shock it. What I could use some help with is understanding the operation and maintenance of my pump and filter. I was under the impression that there should be some sort of valve installed between the pool and the pump's filter basket so I could open the filter without the pool draining, but nothing is apparent. This is what it looks like:

n8KX2G5.jpg

Here are pictures of the pump/filter:

mTT0URT.jpg

CDuXS9K.jpg

VNrAkGJ.jpg

09NsXVM.jpg

A0rMEjl.jpg

I suspect that the pump is clogged, since when I turned it on it only hummed for a few seconds then stopped. Can anyone give me pointers on how to take take care of this? Do I need to physically block the filter hose/return hose? If so is there a recommended way of doing it?

Hello and welcome to TFP! :wave: Quite a mess you have there. Below are some things I would check right away before attempting to power-on your pump anymore:
- Disconnect power to the pump. Remove the pump strainer basket (clear) lid and remove all debris. While open, reach inside and try to feel the impeller to ensure it's not clogged/blocked and can spin freely.
- Consider disconnecting the suction hose from the pool skimmer to the filter and flush it out to ensure it's not clogged.
- Clean pool side skimmer well
- Consider doing a through filter sand "deep cleaning" as outlined on the TFP Deep Cleaning a Sand Filter page.