Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Need Help here, don't know what I'm doing!

1. Back To Top    #1

Need Help here, don't know what I'm doing!

Hello folks,

I'm a newbie to the forum but have been maintaining my pool for about four years. Reading through another thread, I noticed two things that I wasn't aware of. This is the first winter that I removed my SWG and put in a spacer tube to try to preserve the life of the SWG (I realize that the Pentair ones, at least, don't work below about 55 F anyway).

So, as the weather has warmed up lately, with the SWG still removed, I've been adding liquid chlorine as needed. Surprisingly I've been needing at least 16 to 24 oz/day to maintain decent levels. My CYA was a bit low so that was allowing the CL to disappear. My two questions are: Why space out the CL and acid since they end up in the water together anyway? I usually dump them both in the deep end within seconds. Also, why run the waterfall (which I do have) on a daily basis? It would be easy enough to schedule, but I'd still like to know the reasoning.

Thank you all in advance for any help!

Mark
    In-ground gunite, ~10k gal., saltwater, constructed in 2000 w/waterfall & attached spa. Most equipment replaced in 2013 - Pentair Easy Touch w/handheld controller, 3HP IntelliFlo, 27W LED with Blue Devil Sapphire lens cover in pool, 10W LED in spa.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Need Help here, don't know what I'm doing!

Welcome to TFP!

The problem with adding them immediately after each other is that chlorine gas is released if they mix. Best to wait a short while for the first to disperse into the pool.