Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

    waste,

    If you have your field repair manual can you please tell me what is the normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite.

    Mine is only 3 years old but I just started it and it does wierd things. I can have it run the entire night with no errors message and the next day it shows Chexk Salt and Inspect Cell solid lights.

    My salt is at 3000ppm but the temp. is around 60°F.

    How can I know if my cell is defective, I only have 2 weeks still of guaranted.

    Thanks,
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Quote Originally Posted by yugfff
    waste,

    If you have your field repair manual can you please tell me what is the normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite.

    Mine is only 3 years old but I just started it and it does wierd things. I can have it run the entire night with no errors message and the next day it shows Chexk Salt and Inspect Cell solid lights.

    My salt is at 3000ppm but the temp. is around 60°F.

    How can I know if my cell is defective, I only have 2 weeks still of guaranted.

    Thanks,
    Welcome to TFP!!

    Inside the door of your unit is the recommended volts and amps currently being drawn, use the diagnostic button to confirm that you are operating within the desired range
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  3. Back To Top    #3
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    9,928

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    I believe that the inspect cell light will come on every three months no matter what. That is the maintenance interval that they suggest.

    The check salt light may come on due to the low water temperature. Current is reduced with low water temp and can yield a low salt reading which may trip the indicator.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Thank you Guys,

    It look like it's now operating, but it's weird I went to the shop to get my salt level analyzed on tuesday and they told me I was at 3000ppm, I returned yeasterday and they told me I was at 3800ppm. The reading of my Aqua Rite unit is 3200ppm, wich one should I believed?

    Also is it normal that sometimes the unit has some time out, even if I push it to 100% or surchlorinate nothing is appenning, but a few minutes later it does work.

    Thanks for your help,
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Generally the AquaChek salt test strips and Taylor chloride test are the most accurate. The meters in SWGs, while variable are second best. And pool stores are a distant third. There are some good pool stores that give good test results, but there are many bad ones and it is difficult to tell the difference.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Thanks Jason Lion.
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    R.E. - the unit taking a minute to respond to diagnostic button pushes:

    If the system has just been turned on it takes a minute for the 'no flow' light to stop blinking and you'll get no result on the instant salinity (button push #5), also once the unit is turned on, it takes ~ 30 seconds before you hear a slight 'click' which means it's now trying to generate - after that you should see the volts, amps and instant salinity changing 8)
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Me again,

    I'm still not sure if my unit works properly, normally I keep it at 30% and I get the right chlore level, now it's at 60% and my chlore level is still low. I check the unit and the numbers are the following;

    25,7 and 6,08 when the system is supposed to generate chlore, is it normal operation, and don't have any warning lites.

    My alcalinity is a little high and my PH is also a little hihg, is there any possibility that it it affecting the chlore production ?

    Thanks for your help,

    Guy
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  9. Back To Top    #9
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    9,928

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    What is the size of your pool and your location?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    My pool is 16' x 36' average deep is 6'.

    I' located in Montreal Canada.

    My heatpump is already working and the temp is 82°F.
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  11. Back To Top    #11
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    9,928

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    So assuming a rectangular pool of 25000 gallons, you will be adding about 0.174 ppm of chlorine per hour with a setting of 60%. To get 1 ppm added per day, will require 6 hours @ 60% of run time.

    What is your run time?

    Also, have you checked cc? You could be fighting an algae bloom and not know it.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    I'm not sure to understand the meaning of run time, my filter and salt generators are running 24 hours a day,.

    I'm sorry what is the cc ?

    This morning I started the super chlorination mode and actually my chlore level is high. So I suppose my cell is working fine and I have a chemical level balance problem.
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  13. Back To Top    #13
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    9,928

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Yes, run time the length of time you run your pump. 24 hours per day should be putting 4 ppm of chlorine per day into the pool.

    CC is combined chlorine. As opposed to Free Chlorine (FC). A measurable CC level usually means that you are probably fighting an algae bloom or something else which would use up the chlorine pretty fast.

    It would be helpful to get your test results for FC, CC, PH, TA (total alkalinity), CH (calcium hardness) and CYA (Cyanuric acid). If your CYA level is low, then the sun could be burning off the chlorine.

    It is hard to know for sure why you have a low chlorine level but given the amount of time you are running the SWG, it should be quite high so something in the chemistry may be off.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Thanks,

    I will have te tests done tomorrow and I'll post the results.
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: calibrating an Aqua Rite

    Hi,

    I got my water analyzed this morning and those are the results;

    Free chlorine: 1.5
    Total chlorine: 3
    PH: 8.2
    Total alkalinity: 230
    Hardness: 210
    Stabilizer: 0
    Copper: 0
    Salt: 3200

    At the pool store they recommend me to put 18kg of PH- but before I do anything I'll wait for your recommendation since last time they told me to add 20Kg of alkalinity+ and now I'm over.

    Thanks,
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  16. Back To Top    #16
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

    Yes, you should lower the PH. You never want to allow the PH to go above 8.0, and preferably keep it at 7.8 or lower.

    I can't confirm the quantity, which sounds kind of high, without knowing the size of your pool. You should put some basic specs for you pool into your signature.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

    My pool is 18'x36' average deep 6'.
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

  18. Back To Top    #18
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

    18 kg of PH Minus is way too much to add at one time. I wouldn't add more than about 3 kg of PH Minus at a time. You don't want the PH going below 7.0 at any point. You can use my Pool Calculator, see the link in my signature, to figure out how much PH Minus to add (Pool Calculator calls it dry acid). But for large PH changes, like the one you need to do now, you should only add half of the calculated amount, wait an hour, and test again to see where the PH ended up.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  19. Back To Top    #19
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    9,928

    Re: Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

    Besides lowering PH which will help the chlorine work better, you also have a couple of other issues.

    CYA needs to be in the 60-80 ppm range which is probably why you can't hold any chlorine. Also, combined chlorine needs to be eliminated via shocking (use liquid chlorine instead of the SWG).
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: Normal operation spec. of the Aqua Rite

    Guys,

    I really need help,

    I bought Muriatic Acid 20% and I gave a first treatment like this;

    1. I stopped the filter
    2. I put 2 liters of acid spread in 4 corners of the pool (in column) and I letf it for 12 hours.
    3. I started the filter after 12 hours.
    4. I did the same again after 48 hours.

    My Alkalinity level pass from 230 to 200ppm.

    I did the same process again and now my Alkalinity level is back at 220ppm.

    How can I get it lower, did I do something wrong.

    At the pool store they told me this morning to put 28 liters of Muriatic Acid in one shot. On the Muraitic Acid container they say not to put more than 2 liters for the size of my pool.

    Thanks for your help,
    In ground pool 18'x36' deep 6'. Aqua-rite salt system. Titan Heatpump 115,000Btu

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •