Looking for advice with a new pump

Jun 8, 2009
Info
Size - 20,000gal
Filter - DE 38gallon but planning on going to a 60
Pool - IG Plaster
PumpSize - Single Speed ancient Anthony. I think it is a 1HP

I wasn't sure whether to put this here or under pumping station. I'm a newbie with this stuff so I put it here.

My situation is that I have a pool that I don't use. I would like to continue to keep it clean though and need to get a new pump. I am looking at either the Whisperflo or the Intelliflo. I have seen many comparisons between an Intelliflo and an old single speed pump where the Intelliflo blows it away in efficiency. My question is if the Intelliflo is that much better than a 2speed Whisperflo pump that I would see the difference in efficiency savings or if the difference is so insignificant that it isn't worth the extra money for the Intelliflo pump?

My plan is to run the pump as low as I can to ciculate the 20k gallons once a day over the course of 16-20 hours and give it an official cleaning with the skimmer every 2 weeks or so. It's my impression that running it for a longer time at lower speeds also helps to keep the algea out of the pool to some extent.

I'm sort of clueless on this stuff so I'm sorry if I haven't given enough information. Try to keep it simple if possible. BTW, I live in SoCal so my cost per kwh is quite high comparatively speaking.

When I had to replace my pump last year, I did some research and opted for the Hayward NorthStar.
Unfoturnately, I don't remember why I settled on it.
But, I do like it very very much.
It is really relatively quiet. The air conditioner heat exchanger fan is much noisier.
It has a really good, big, basket, and supports 2" plumbing.
I don't run it 24/7. Last year I ran it for 10 hours a day over night.
This year I'm currently doing 13 hours/day, during the day.
It is 1.4 THP single speed.

Again, I don't remember why I didn't go with a 2-speed model.