Too much CYA, do I have to drain the whole pool?

Tmart

Jul 22, 2015
Buda, Tx
Hello all! This is my first time posting. I have a 12,000 Gal. In ground, Cody pebble tech pool. It's a little over a year old. We've had problems with yellow algea on the walls lately but the water has always been really clear. I finally called a pool company and they told me that CYA was off the charts and we will have to drain our whole pool. My question is-should I get a second opinion? I'm dreading the hassle and swampy yard, and that brings me to my 2nd question: if I do drain, what do I do with all that water? I don't think my neighbors would appreciate their yards flooded either. 3rd and final question, how could the CyA be that high in only a year?

Thanks so much, I really appreciate (in advance) all the expert knowledge!!

T

Hello and welcome to TFP! :wave: Do you have to drain the whole pool? ...... that's hard to know without knowing your exact CYA. Here's what I would suggest ..
- Make sure you have a TF-100 test kit of your own. You'll need it anyways to maintain your pool year-round. (link below)
- Do a CYA diluted test as follows:
Add pool water to bottom of sticker.
Add tap water to top of sticker.
Shake.
Pour out half so mixture is to bottom of sticker.
Add reagent to top of sticker.
Shake.
Test outside with back to sun and tube at waist level.
Pour back and forth a few times to see if you get the same result.
Double the result.

Once you know your true CYA, then you can go to the Poolmath calculator to figure out how much water to change-out.

Don't take someone else's word for it or guess which might waste your time & money. The proper test kit and the calculator link will do the work for you every time. Nice to have you with us.

- - - Updated - - -

As a side note, I keep my CYA around 60-70 in the summer. If your CYA is anything under 70, you can work with that and begin to take actions to adjust FC to kill any algae.