Green algae keeps coming back!

Aug 27, 2016
Duncanville, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi I'm new to this. My previous levels were FC - 3, CYA - 60, PH - 7.3, Phosphates - 100, CH - 280. These levels were at the end of my Green to Clean cycle. I am now on day 4. Yesterday things were looking better. Algae was gone except for a few dusty areas. I SLAMMED the pool based on the recommendations from poolcalculator.com. I used about 5 gallons of bleach to get the FC levels to a 24. I backwashed, brushed and vacuumed the pool. Clarity in the water was coming back. It rained last night. This morning, the algae is returning. Now what? I just don't understand what more I can do. Please help. I have been dealing with this for a month!

Hello and welcome to TFP! :wave: If you want to use the TFPC methods to maintain your pool, you'll first need to ensure (or confirm for us) you have one of the recommended test kits (TF-100 or Taylor K-2006C). From there, you'll need to perform a true TFP "SLAM" as noted on the SLAM page (link below) and continue to maintain the required SLAM FC level until you pass ALL 3 SLAM criteria. Anything less is just a waste of time and chemicals. The key is to "Maintain" that FC level.

Speaking of chemicals, for a SLAM you'll use just regular liquid bleach (HEB Bravo or Wal-Mart Great Value). If you are using any Green-to-Clean product, you should discontinue its use promptly.

Also, please add your pool info to your signature by going to the top of the TFP web page (just under the Pool School button) and select "SETTINGS". On the next page look to the left for a menu bar that says, “MY SETTINGS” and go to "EDIT SIGNATURE" to enter your pool and equipment info there. Or you can click EDIT YOUR SIGNATURE. It will help us later. This link may also help you: Pool School - Read This BEFORE You Post. Don’t forget to include your test kit in the signature. :)

Nice to have you with us.

Welcome to TFP, Canjones :handwave: