Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Just Filled Pool with Water Newbie Here what next

1. Back To Top    #1

Just Filled Pool with Water Newbie Here what next

I have an intex metal frame 10 ft by 30 inches pool just filled it up with water , my filter is the 1500 one I upgraded what should be next step for me when should I add chemicals ?
    INTEX ULTRA FRAME RECTANGULAR POOL SET, 32' x 16' x 52", Water Capacity (90%): 14,364 Gallons
    Intex Easy Set 4000 gph Filter Pump, 110~120 Volts - 3/4 HP , Hayward c751 star clear filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Just Filled Pool with Water Newbie Here what next

This sort of thing is covered in the Pool School (see the button near the top right of every page). but...

First thing would be to put in some chlorine (unscented bleach works great and is usually cheapest), and some CYA (stabilizer, cyanuric acid). You can use the Pool Calculator (described in Pool School) to figure out how much. Then you should get a good test kit so you can monitor your water and see if anything else needs to be adjusted. On this forum we are fans of the Taylor K-2006, also available as the Leslie's FAS-DPD Service Test Kit, and then there's the TF100 from tftestkits.net (which in the long run I think is the better deal).
    --paulr
    BBB "Intermediate Swimmer"
    IG plaster pool 18.5K gal, Hayward Pro-Grid DE filter, 3/4 HP Hydramax II; Polaris 380, 3/4 HP booster
    AG spa 325 gal, probably Sundance of some kind
    Water testing instructions on one page

3. Back To Top    #3

The first thing to do is to get a full set of water test results. Depending on what the test results are there are various things that might need adjusting. The only thing we can say for sure is that you are going to need some CYA/stabilizer/conditioner.