Atlanta, GA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
I am new to pools after buying a house with an 18K pebbletec gallon pool June 1. We have replaced the pump and upgraded to a SWG shortly after buying it. I learned alot through the process as it was clear the pool guy doing it is not the most academic or exacting type. I've pretty much been on my own with it since June 5th, getting pump timing and chlorine balanced and all. My testing did measure the CYA to be very high, >120, so I did about a 25% water replacement but it still read high it seemed. My targetted FC was around 7. I would add acid every couple weeks. It has looked very good... Until recently:

The water just was not as clear as it once was and was taking on a slightly greener hue (the pool has a large wall of forest behind it so there is always some kind of dark green reflection). By my testing my FC was 6.5 and CC was <.5. I took water into LPS: FC=7.5, TC=7.5, Salt=3500, CH=170, CYA=60, TA=80, pH=8.2, Acid demand=2, Cu=0, Fe=0, Phos=2500 The pool guy there said my chemistries were probably not causing the cloudiness but maybe I was seeing just dirt and pollen and should backwash the filter (I knew it was time to add some more acid, not sure why the phos is up as my pool is above the level of grass).

The next morning, sunday, I downloaded directions to backwash my 48sf DE filter. I did four cycles of backwashing and rinsing. This dropped the water a couple inches. Then starting the pool back up THERE WAS COMPLETE DISGUSTING BLACK/BROWN FLOW FROM THE RETURNS INTO THE POOL. I was hoping this would clear but did not after 30 seconds or so. I shut everything off and cancelled my other plans that morning.