Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: stripped drain plug

1. Back To Top    #1

stripped drain plug

I over tightened my cap on my drain plug and stripped the plastic threads on my sand filter tank. I tried using some thread tape and it is helping, but there is still a little drip. Is there anyway to repair this, or will I have to buy a new tank? The drain is molded into the tank, so there is no way of replacing it. Thanks for any answers
    Lomart 21ft round 11,000 gal 52"
    Hayward EC40 Perflex DE filter
    1hp Hayward Powerflo Matrix with micro timer
    Pool Rover JR ABG pool Vacuum (The best)

Back up pump and filter
    Spectra 3 sand filter/ Promega 1 horse pump with timer

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: stripped drain plug

I'm not an expert but, you can try finding a male female pvc threaded adapter...apply pvc glue to the female part of the adapter and the threads on your sand filter and it should be able to seal the stripped threads. Are you sure it's the threads on the filter and not the cap? I'm thinking if you use this route and your cap thread is OK, you can just crew the cap onto the pvc adapter...here is a link to the part I am thinking off....just don;t know what size you will need

http://www.plumbingsupply.com/images...-fipsxmips.jpg

Note...using pvc glue will be permanent, so you may also want to try PVC type pipe dope with teflon...you can actually just try this with the cap first...here is what I use on my threaded pvc fittings ..1 oz. Great White™ Basic Pipe Joint Compound

Good luck
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

3. Back To Top    #3

There's probably a way to fix this ... possibilities I can think of off the top of my head are die the pipe (as in tap and die) - the die will put male threads on the pipe or figure out what the pipe is made of and glue a new male adapter to it.