Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Small pool/Expensive test?

1. Back To Top    #1

Small pool/Expensive test?

Okay, okay, I know that I am not supposed to believe everything the pool store tells me, but it is hard since they are the so-called experts and I am the inexperienced new pool owner. I have a Intex metal frame pool that holds 3,861 gallons. I've been following the BBB method as best I can for a week, but I'm still learning. I went to the pool store yesterday to buy the CYA and the test kit. When the lady found out that I was using bleach to sanitize my pool, she looked at me like I was from mars or something. Bleach??? Are you kidding? I insisted that I was no insane. She acted like she had never heard of anyone doing such a thing. She talked me out of the test kit by saying it was really only for people running big community pools and professionals and such. I should just bring my water there and let HER test it, etc. So, I've addd the CYA, but now have no way to test to see if it worked. Since I have such a small cheapy pool, is it worth investing in the good test?

I'm looking at this pool as my practice one. We'll move up to something more permanent in a year or two.

Thanks so much for your help. This website has been an amazing learning experience!

Karen
    Cheap metal frame Intex above ground pool until I get brave enough for the real thing.
    3,681 gallons, 15'x42" round.
    Filter pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Small pool/Expensive test?

Who would you trust, yourself with a proven kit most on this site use or someone testing for you looking for a way to sell you stuff? Get the test kit, you said its a practice pool right? So practice testing too . Read the active ingredient on bleach and liquid chlorine, they are the same. Don't let the poolstore shake your confidence, with the test kit you will know what your pool needs and with pool school you will know how to achieve it.