TA reading with high CYA question.

Dz7

In The Industry
Jun 20, 2016
Florida
Hoping one of the experts can help me out with this question. I work in the industry and test 100+ pools a week. I've noticed when I get a CYA level that is way over 100 the TA test is pretty much useless. I'll retest TA 3-4 times with a high CYA and get different results every time, sometimes ridiculously different results. Why does high CYA affect the TA reading? We use the Taylor K-2006 with titration for TA and CH tests. Is there any way to get an accurate TA reading with a sky high CYA level?

Also, when the CYA is that high I always recommend draining and refilling or switching to a liquid chlorine diet. Almost always customers aren't willing to drain because it's expensive. Is there any other advice I could be giving them they may listen to?

I started in December with CYA over 200, thanks Les. Since then it's been all bleach or liquid C and, a little drain and fill. It's August now and I'm at 90 on my way to 50. It just takes time and and daily testing which I'm will to do. #nomorepucks!

I have not heard that CYA can interfere with the TA test. FC can interfere, maybe the FC is high to compensate for the cya being high?

From here, Pool School - Extended Test Kit Directions
R-0007 is thiosulfate, used to neutralize chlorine so it won't interfere with the test. Extra R-0007 can be added when the FC level is very high to help prevent the dye from bleaching out.

From Taylor,
High halogen level may change indicator reaction from green/red to blue/yellow; to prevent, add thiosulfate prior to testing.

I have not heard that CYA can interfere with the TA test. FC can interfere, maybe the FC is high to compensate for the cya being high?

R-0007 is thiosulfate, used to neutralize chlorine so it won't interfere with the test. Extra R-0007 can be added when the FC level is very high to help prevent the dye from bleaching out.

From Taylor,