Newbie to doing pool chemicals -not holding chlorine/cloudy water..help!

Aug 1, 2016
Canada
Hi!

We've had a pool for 8 years and we've never had any problems. We did the 15 minute workweek kit and cleaned the pool without ever having issue. This year the pool has never been clear. It is cloudy all of the time. There is no green or yellow algae visible, but when I take a water sample, the pool doesn't hold the chlorine and I cannot see the bottom of the pool. I've tried to get local people to help, but they seem more keen on selling chemicals that never seem to rectify the problem. I am turning to this forum for desperate help! I will warn you that I will need step by step help because I have never done much with the chemicals before, my husband used to do that. Anyway, I sure would appreciate the expertise of the people on this forum. Here is my pool information:

Volume: 72481 litres
surface:Vinyl
filter:Sand
Type:Inground
temperature: 21.11 Celsius

Test Results

Free Chlorine: 1ppm
Total Chlorine: 1ppm
Combined Chlorine: 0ppm
PH: 7.2
Hardness: 280 ppm
Alkalinity (w/ stabilizer): 134 ppm
cyanuric Acid: 20ppm
Total Disolved Solids:1400 ppm

It was recommended that I add Nu-Blu, which I did, but it didn't help.

I would be so grateful for any help that you can give. Thank you so much!

Welcome!

I'm not sure very useful Pool Math page from above can be switched to metric system. If it cannot you'd just need to convert back and forth using Google :). Your pool volume is 19,000 gal, please put this and pump / filter model in your signature to help whoever helps you find it.

TFP recommends 2 test kits for testing water: TF-100 or K2006. Strips or pool store results have proven to be inaccurate to be of any use. TFP recommends liquid chlorine (bleach) for chlorination almost exclusively. No solid form of chlorine is generally recommended due to its side effects.