New Liner - New Water, Where to go from here?

Jul 30, 2016
East TN
Hello all!
I am fairly new to pools. We purchased our home in 2013 which came with the pool. Up till now, I just followed the previous homeowners advice the past two years and added pool shock when needed to clear the water and kept the floater filled with pucks.

We just installed a new liner ourselves, got the water topped off, all the upper faceplates installed/cutout last night.

We are wanting to follow the TFP method now and I am curious as to how I should proceed from here?!?! I do not have a test kit in hand but I have ordered the TF-100 and a speed stir moments ago.

Should I start my pump and have it circulating the water?
I have 3 bags of 68% Cal-hypo shock left, should i dilute that and pour it in until I know my levels?
I also have about 20 3" pucks left, they are tricolor-s-triazinetrone...99%.

My family is screaming to get in and swim, is it ok for them to do this, since it is just tap water at this time? Will this hender my balancing efforts later?

I have spent several hours reading over the pool school section and the other recommended reading sections and learn more ever time I re-read it.

Thank you in advanced for any help offered.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum. :wave:

Everything will really get started when you get your test kit (likely Wednesday)

Until you get your kit and can post some precise numbers, please put 1 gal of Clorox in the pool each evening after you swim. You will have good use for the pucks and Cal Hypo later, don't use them right now.

Meanwhile, go swimming (nice pool!)