Checking in- maintaining FC

May 26, 2016
Lansdale, PA
Hello! I am new to BBB this season--yay! I think I am getting the hang of it, and our water has never been clearer consistently, but I am having trouble figuring out how much bleach to add on a daily basis. I test every day, ok, maybe every other day- sorry. And things come out fine, so I leave it alone. I would like to get into a routine of adding a little bleach each day to maintain, but that has me hung up. I leave it because it's consistent for 2-3 days, but then FC drops off to 1, and I add a decent amount of bleach all at once, according to the chart, then it happens again. I feel like the chlorine runs away when I'm not looking. I've never had a problem with ugly looking water, though. How do I get it to level out and maintain? I'm just trying to see where I stand now. On another note, the water is now really sticky. Anything I can do for that, or is it because I messed something up? Thank you!!! Have a great day!
PH 7.6
FC 12
CC .5
TC 12.5
TA 100
CH 325
CYA 60-70- I couldn't call it!

Are you saying you raise FC to around target (8), it stays at ~8 for a few days and then one day it's 1? That doesn't sound right, that's either testing error or bad reagents.

Maybe it might be good to keep a log of every time you test and add, to make sure you aren't testing less often than you think.

I assume you are using PoolMath for your dosages, correct?

1. Calculate the amount of chlorine it will take to raise your pool 3 ppm.

2. Test your FC (record it) and then add the calculated dosage.

3. Do the same thing the next day

4. Do the same thing the next day and then test....you should be at your original FC + 3ppm (it will vary depending on a lot of factors but this should get you close.