$3,500 repair bill - is it worth it?!

Jul 26, 2016
Palmer, AK
Hi there- I am VERY new to spas/hot tubs. We moved into a new house last year in Alaska that has a 2007 J335 Jacuzzi hot tub on the deck. We decided to finally have a local spa repair company come take a look at the hot tub today. Before our appointment, the service manager suggested I come in and get new chemicals, a jet line cleaner solution, and a lesson on start up.
Which I did; and last night as we got the hot tub ready, filled it up, got the power on, then we fired up the jets and water started pouring out of the bottom [emoji30]

Fast forward to today's appointment- the techs found the heater needs to be replaced along with another part AND there is a crack in the bottom of the shell. The grand total for fixing this hot tub will be $3,500.00.

We're at a loss on what to do. I could buy a portable hot tub for $400 and then roll it up and store it for the winter. I'm not even sure what the electricity will cost per month to keep this thing from freezing would cost us?! Is a 10 year old hot tub worth saving?!

Any input from other cold weather area folks on this? Help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

With a dracked shell id pass. You can find a good fully functioning one used for that much. Time to break out the chainsaw!

With the unknowns on this one, I could not see spending money on another used one just to find issues with that one. That doesn't make sense to me. A new J335 is around $12K out here... Maybe I need a second repair quote. Although there aren't tons of spa repair people here... Sigh

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk