Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Need to add pH?

1. Back To Top    #1

Need to add pH?

Ok, so I got a new pool and I am adding CYA to my pool. My pH used to be at 7.6 but now, after 3lbs of CYA, it looks like it is around 6.9. I am wondering if I need to highten the pH or if the CYA throws my test off. Should I wait to test for a couple of days after I am done administering the CYA?
    25,000gal IG Vnyl pool/Challenger 1HP Pump/ Triton II Sand Filter/Denver, CO/ Complete Noob at pools and anything to do with them (besides swimming)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Need to add pH?

Adding CYA will reduce you PH. Whether you need to increase PH will also depend on you TA.

It would be best if you could post a complete set of numbers.

dave
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for your reply

I am not by my numbers at the moment but I do remember that my TA was at 100.
    25,000gal IG Vnyl pool/Challenger 1HP Pump/ Triton II Sand Filter/Denver, CO/ Complete Noob at pools and anything to do with them (besides swimming)

4. Back To Top    #4

Go play in the water and create lots of aeration, your PH will bounce right back up.

dave
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

5. Back To Top    #5

Thanks!

Can I play around in the pool with the CYA being distributed?

Why would my pH appear to be lower just because I havent been in the pool?

6. Back To Top    #6

Quote Originally Posted by TheExecutive
    Thanks!

Can I play around in the pool with the CYA being distributed?

Why would my pH appear to be lower just because I havent been in the pool?